Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Multiplayer help please

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Sep 2019 10:46 Edited at: 19th Sep 2019 15:54
I have zero multiplayer knowledge - so I'm about to ask some very basic questions

Aim:
I have a near-completed multiplayer game which is based on a "role-and-write" dice game (think Yahtzee but different).
Each player takes a turn and then the play passes to the next player.
At the moment you have the option of single player or up to six players but in order to play it you pass the device to the next player - functional but not ideal.
Ideally I would like a system like "Yahtzee with Buddies". In that, available players are listed (who are not necessarily online at the time but are registered). You can then select a player and challenge them. They get a notification of the challenge and can choose to accept or not. Games don't have to be played in real-time but can be played over several days.

Obviously, I need a server. Do I set up my own PC as a server? I presume that means it needs to be powered on all the time. Can I use a web host instead?
Do I need to install server software?
Once I have a server, I need to hold game states. Does that happen server side or on each local device - If it's on the server then how does that happen. If it's on the local devices then how can I ensure they are in-sync?

How do I pass each move to the other player.
What else do I need to know that I may not have considered?

There will, I'm sure, be many other questions as I go but I think these will do for now.
smerf
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Sep 2019 07:24