Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Preserving user data while app updates?

Author
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Oct 2019 17:46
Shortly, I need a folder like whatsapp e.t.c. creates on my phone because I'm afraid if I release a newer version of my game, old data will be lost on the users devices. AGK's Read and write folders won't be sufficient I guess? I need an'outfolder' (sorry, I'm really new to mobile)

How can I preserve the user data and game progress if my app needs to be upgraded by the client side?

My data file is in the media folder and if the already installed game updates (from google play etc) I assume that the data file will be lost/overwritten. So I decided to;

1 - when app starts, it checks if the outfolder contains the data file. If not, then app copies the data file from the media file and it assumes that the app is just installed. And the app won't do any other thing to the data file in the media folder. (maybe a backup strategy by using both files? later...)
2 - every change on the data will be written to the data file which is in the outfolder.

and here are my questions;

how can I create a folder like whatsapp creates to my phone's root? I need a folder which is not in the install package.
and what happens if I don't add data file to newer app versions? Does the data file on the clients phone remains or will be deleted anyways?
Arch-Ok
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Oct 2019 21:23