Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / AGK online multiplayer - hosting & connecting question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Oct 2019 21:21
I'm a networking newbie using AppGameKit Studio Tier 1. This past week I added local multiplayer to a game I'm selling on Steam, which works great! Big thanks to everyone at AppGameKit who made implementing this simple & painless.

I'd now like to add online multiplayer. I'm looking for a user-friendly way to host & join games between two players over the internet.

I see that AppGameKit can connect to another computer when given an IPv4 or IPv6 address. Would one (or both) of the users need to set up port forwarding for that to work? I'm concerned that changing router settings could be a tall hurdle for casual gamers. Is there a way around that, either through AppGameKit or using a third-party solution?

I'd love to get advice or tips from anyone who's had experience with AppGameKit online multiplayer.
Rick Nasher
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Oct 2019 08:47 Edited at: 20th Oct 2019 09:08
When using multiplayer over the internet in my experience you would need to use port forwarding indeed, which for quite a few users, may be a hurdle and instructions are hard to give for every router may be different.
Therefor something like hole-punching is used by more sophisticated networking engines, but this is a bit more complicated and I believe requires a third actor to be successful.
It's probably possible to code this with the current set of commands, but requires more in dept networking knowledge. (I see room for an add-on DLC here )

I do not know if any third-party solutions exits for AppGameKit (yet).