Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / AppGameKit Studio Particle Editor Released!

Author
Message
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Oct 2019 14:21 Edited at: 24th Oct 2019 14:21
Hi everyone,

Today we are pleased to announce the release of AppGameKit Studio - Particle Editor.

Read the full release details HERE

This is a DLC for Studio but it also works fine with Classic. If you are a Classic only user and you want to get hold of this DLC then you must buy a download version direct from TGC. If you buy from Steam then you must have a copy of Studio.

Special thanks to community dev Gabor Denes for developing this awesome special effects tool!



Rick
Development Director
TGC Team
george++
AGK Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Hellas
Posted: 24th Oct 2019 15:05 Edited at: 24th Oct 2019 18:47
Hi Rick,
I own Classic and Studio. Since I want this editor for both, do I have to pay twice?
Can I use the editor with Tier 2?. A simple example will help.
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Oct 2019 15:52
@george++ you just need to buy the download version from TGC.

Re Teir2 that's a good question. Currently the runtime is Tier1, we will look into Tier2 support.
Development Director
TGC Team
c0d3r9
AGK Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2017
Location:
Posted: 24th Oct 2019 16:24 Edited at: 24th Oct 2019 16:25
Looks nice...
Can I trade this for the useless and not maintained Visual Editor?
I know that probably will not work, but the visual editor was indeed wasted money.
And I'm still embarrassed about that.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD
DannyD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 01:02 Edited at: 25th Oct 2019 01:02
Thanks, couldn't wait for the release..., but I'm VERY DISAPPOINTED ... (Can think of a hundred different unappropriate words)
I bought the particle editor using the link in your Newsletter, Pay almost R400 (South African Rand) for the STEAM Key,
just to see a few minutes later, it's advertise on STEAM for R197... HALF the price (And both said -10%)


Attachments

Login to view attachments
DannyD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 01:10 Edited at: 25th Oct 2019 01:11
Second Question.
Can I change the Steam Key version to a Downlodable version.
Only see RickV Comments
Quote: "@george++ you just need to buy the download version from TGC."

And Stupid me bought the Steam Key version, and I own both Classic and Studio

And I still use classic more than Studio due to Lack of HTML5 export in Studio
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 08:14
@DannyD TGC's site only offer three currencies. Steam is a US corporation that can offer any currency around the globe and they also offer lower values in different locations. If you contact me via our support system then I am sure we can deal with the over payment in this case and I can change your Steam key to a download.
Development Director
TGC Team
Bored of the Rings
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 08:19
Just purchased the software, will test, play and feedback as soon as possible. thanks TGC and to the Author.
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
DannyD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 11:40
@RickV
I've send you a message.
I'll be happy if you can change from Steam key to Downloadable. Not to much concern about the over pricing...
Must admit.. I'm also guilty in not checking the pricing... Will remember that next Time, and my bad for not reading the post to the end, for explaining the steam/downloadble version... for AppGameKit and Studio

Doesn't really matter which currency is used on TGC store... the conversion to ZAR doesn't really make a big difference.
But thanks in offering that anyway.. but scrap the refund.. if you can just change to Downloadable I'll be very happy

Riusz
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2016
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 12:40
It's only 3D ?

Thank you
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 13:13
Yes it is for 3D currently.
andy72
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2018
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 19:12
It doesn't work on mac - I get a "The application “ParticleEditor.app” can’t be opened."
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 22:49
Can you please submit a bug report with more info in the support system so that the issue can be tracked down? Thanks and sorry for the inconvenience.
CJB
Valued Member
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 25th Oct 2019 23:49
These new particles are great! I'm using the bundled "runtime" library of functions as more of a guide for use rather than a be-all and end-all (although Gabor has said more runtime functionality is expected). I managed to drop smoke vents straight into my game project within 5 minutes! Can't wait to add some more advanced effects now. I think I'll make a couple of particle beam weapons... one like the ghost-busters particle stream weapon, and the "mind control" effect is perfect for a ray-gun like in Sky Captain:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2019 01:26
That effect could be tweaked to be a great fit for that kind of weapon. Looking forward to what you come up with.
The runtime will indeed be expanded shortly. Next update will focus on making it easier to use effects when the camera moves longer distances.
PSY
Valued Member
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2016
Location: Laniakea Supercluster
Posted: 26th Oct 2019 01:47
I'd really like to see how exactly the particle effects are integrated in your code.
Is there any detailed explanation or video?


PSY


PSY LABS Games
Coders don't die, they just gosub without return
IronGiant
AGK Bronze Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2012
Location: the great state of madness
Posted: 26th Oct 2019 02:48
you may ask yourself, "is this particle editor thang worth the price?"

and you may ask yourself " where is that large automobile?"
and you may tell yourself, " this is not my beautiful wife".

Well let me tell you this , the cars gone , that isnt your beautiful wife , or maybe it is?,
and yes, this Particle editor is worth every penny.

I bought it, I played with it for like three hours straight, and I can tell you without hesitation,

"YES!!" , buy it, hug it, take it home to show your parents, its great, you'll love it, it even sliced and dices julienne fries.

and to be honest, its just damn fun to play with....
It's a Bird! , It's a Plane!...., No its a rocket powered Squirrel holding some acorns and Smiling!
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2019 03:24
But.. but.. not the car!
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2019 03:37 Edited at: 26th Oct 2019 17:11
@PSY
Here is a short vid showing you a simple AppGameKit app that loads and displays effects exported from the editor. Also shows how line emitter end point coordinates can be positioned with game world coordinates and how to double the beam. But... never cross the streams!

RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th Oct 2019 08:39
@andy72 - did you purchase the Steam or Download version?
Development Director
TGC Team
DannyD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 27th Oct 2019 08:18
Wow, Thank to everyone involved in the Particles DLC.... worth every cent spend....
DannyD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 27th Oct 2019 09:02 Edited at: 27th Oct 2019 09:06
@PSY

This is how I do it, and might work for you.
There might be other ways....

1. Load/Create the particle in the editor and click the export button


2. Give it a name and check the Checkbox for Runtime Export en click


3. The exported files is saved in Particles Media/exports folder


4. According to the docs there some keyfiles you need to copy from the Runtime Demo folder in Particles
Delete whatever you not using...


Copy to your Project Media fodler

5. Create your Project in Studio or Classic
6. Copy inc_gpup.agc to your project main folder (From the Particles Runtime demo) folder
and the exported effects from Particles to your Project/media/effects folder


7. add the following Lines to your project



Compile and test...

Hope it helps

Attachments

Login to view attachments
PSY
Valued Member
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2016
Location: Laniakea Supercluster
Posted: 27th Oct 2019 14:11 Edited at: 27th Oct 2019 21:45
@GaborD
@DannyD

Hey guys,

thanks a bunch for the nice video and the detailed explanation.
Now I know everything I wanted to know about how the system works.


So, I own Classic and Studio. I'm currently developing with Classic, but after this project I'm gonna switch to Studio.
As I understand it, there's no way the particle system works with Classic when I buy it on Steam? I'm asking because I don't have to worry about updates when using Steam



PSY


PSY LABS Games
Coders don't die, they just gosub without return
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Oct 2019 08:46
@PSY If you own the Steam version of Studio then you are fine buying the Steam version of the particle editor. You can still export effects and they will work with both Classic and Studio.

We had to warn people who did not own Studio on Steam. If they buy the Steam version of Particle Editor direct from TGC then they cannot use it because they don't own Studio on Steam. It's how Steam works between applications and DLCs.

@DannyD thanks for sharing the help advice on exporting.
Development Director
TGC Team
PSY
Valued Member
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2016
Location: Laniakea Supercluster
Posted: 28th Oct 2019 14:16
@Rick

Ok, got it. Thank you for the clarification.
Gonna buy the Steam version


PSY


PSY LABS Games
Coders don't die, they just gosub without return
blink0k
Moderator
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 28th Oct 2019 20:51
Has anyone tried (or is there an example of) an explosion using the particle editor?
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 29th Oct 2019 05:53
There are no specific explosion demos yet, but here is a vid of some related presets. These are very simple and just show different approaches, you'd usually tweak them further to your needs.


blink0k
Moderator
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 29th Oct 2019 07:22
Thanks. That looks good.
Rick Nasher
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 2nd Nov 2019 14:47
Very good stuff.
bjadams
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Nov 2019 10:10
Does this use standard AppGameKit commands or are there specific extra commands?
I ask this to see if it would eventually come available for T2.

I have bought both classic and studio but am not using studio as i have not seen much T2 support so am being cautious with just buying addons or new versions now...
psychoanima
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 7th Nov 2019 19:27
Can I use it in 2d environment, as a cursor particle fx (in foreground) or background explosions?
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 10:31 Edited at: 8th Nov 2019 10:33
@bjadams
Right now it's T1 only.

@psychomania
Assuming you are using SetVirtualResolution it's quite easy to sync up the effects to your 2D sprites.
You could easily have 2 layers (one inbetween sprite depth layers controlled with SetGlobal3DDepth and one in front with some manual camera trickery).

The plan is to make this the focus of the next update and add easy to use functions for it.
Here is a quick first test video, 2 sprite layers (background and front) and two particle effect layers (between background and front sprites and completely in front)
I will work on a better demo and include it in the next version so that people have a starting point.

Xaby
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Apr 2007
Location: Berlin
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 11:35
Looks fine, but I guess, we would need to have something like a 3D object placement editor and lighting props or what.
What I also would love to see and would improve quick prototyping would be something with 3D animations like that



Also I am using at the moment App Game Kit Tier 2 C++ and mostly 2D. The visuals look great, but I don't know, if that is only possible with advanced 3D shaders for the rest of the environment.

@c0d3r9 I feel the same.
@CJB would be nice, to see a tutorial, how you combined your video with these effects. Is that ingame graphics, or could you export the particles somehow to another application?

And the biggest question: Will it run on the OUYA with Android 4.1 and OpenGL ES 2.0?
psychoanima
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jun 2018
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2019 18:13
@GaborD

And how it will behave with precentage display system?

In my scenario camera would be static and particles will be attached to sprite x/y movement.
andy72
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2018
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2019 17:37
@rickv - I still can't run it on Mac - where do I create a bug report for this product? Doesn't seem to be a github repo for this. Got it from the TGC site (not steam). Thanks.
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Dec 2019 06:46
@andy72 - please email me details / screenshots - rick @ thegamecreators.com
Development Director
TGC Team
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 13th Dec 2019 04:33 Edited at: 13th Dec 2019 04:34
@psychoanima

I want it to work the same for a percentage based setup too, will be adding 2D related functions to the next update, that should make it easier to have moving positions.
Currently very busy with work, but it's next on my to-do list.
Abiz
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2012
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 14th Feb 2020 00:45
Quote: "I want it to work the same for a percentage based setup too, will be adding 2D related functions to the next update, that should make it easier to have moving positions.
Currently very busy with work, but it's next on my to-do list."


Thanks GaborD, much appreciated.

Because when I try DannyD's example it works for the birdtest, it only works after export, not with the standard effects.

The editor is welll documented, how to make it work in AppGameKit Tier1 is not. I could really use some more examples.
I have it working in a 2D screen, but still trying to figure out how to do exact PIXEL perfect placing of the item.

I will keep reading.
The particles objects themselves are gorgeous though!!

Thanks,
James
Resourceful
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jan 2014
Location: every ware
Posted: 17th Apr 2020 06:25
for those who bought this

was it worth getting ?

was it hard to figure out how to use ?
haliop787
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2020
Playing: With reality.
Posted: 17th Apr 2020 08:01
It is wonderful and easy but i would like some extra features there. like Export to 2d particle and stuff.
Resourceful
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jan 2014
Location: every ware
Posted: 5th May 2020 08:44 Edited at: 5th May 2020 09:16
About the Editor

I was hoping the mushroom cloud explosion would be part of it

https://www.google.com/search?q=mushroom+cloud+explosion&sxsrf=ALeKk02G2kcGh89IbURn6825bfjlNNauQg:1588664451548&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=YQCLLGto5PNktM%253A%252CSpLkFpeVLyUXNM%252C%252Fm%252F01n17z&vet=1&usg=AI4_-kRqJnsfe9_zo0GY7yFWEtY4vuvzWw&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjhz7SinJzpAhWRFzQIHWjIDv0Q_B0wHnoECAUQAw#imgrc=YQCLLGto5PNktM:



and several examples of it

the editor needs how to use video's
the help file could do with a bit more info

there is a lot to look at

perhaps some sort of ai to help someone build what they are after

anther settings could be put at the top over the example being shown

thats what I see is needed .
fs2020
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2020
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2020 15:21
hello everyonemy neame us Fernando.\ gonna go make some sandwhich art at work later wish I could stay and learn to use these products
ok. so I buy the agK studio hope that it was easier to work on and modify already existing projects ( mayebe i need to learn to use it still) I spent a while trying to add particles to a simple shooter game n but was totally unsuccessful … but it not necessary easier at all? its like switching from GIMP to photoshop.
I didn't like it but not gonna give up . :/

its really complex to ass particles to the game , im struggling with this and so many more things.
is it a improovmemt using studio vs. classic.

I want to implement the guru loader and GameGuru VR aswell as use STUDIO and classic to create menus.... I don't know im stugguling and wish their were more courses online

i'll get back to the forums later as Its my first time using the forums.


thanks
you can check out my progress and demo and prototypes
fernandosantiago.itch.io


i really exited about implementing the Visual editor, or STUDIO ( about, menu, , loading screens ect...)
i dont know if i made the right choice with STUDIO as i already owned CLASSIC. the truth is i want to use the GAME GURU LOADER and GAME GURU VR when my game guru levels are finished , then i wish to use the other software to make main menu, menu, death scenes, and more. but its very depressing sometimes as i must continue to get familiar with this powerful app ccreation engines




fs2020
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2020
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2020 15:36
one mo thing , please understand.
I buy the PARTICLE EDITOR, with one scene and vision in mind. maybe one of yall has little more experience .
Being inspired by the evil within frandshise I wanted to make better fire smoke and explosion particle for a part of a level 3D game guru game just one "boom" as the level start leaving fire and corpses around. . So far im still in early development which is polishing and re-creating my levels using Game guru. I'm still n00b with d program languages but I like the sandbox placement ect..
I still not used the gameguru loader, im still working with 3d artist to perfect my game scenes

it's tough because I have specific things I want to implement , I know the graphics and platform are perfect for the style game I want to create.
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2020 22:16 Edited at: 28th May 2020 00:43
@fs2020 Could you give us some info about what gives you trouble about adding the effects to your game?
It should be pretty simple, just load the effects you need when you intitialize your game:

#include "inc_gpup.agc" // include the particle addon
gpup_init() // initialize the particle system (this will load the particle geometry , the noise textures, etc)

myEffect = gpup_loadEffect("effectname", x position, y position, z position, scale) // load an effect and position it
gpup_emitterActive( myEffect, gpup_active ) // let the effect emit particles. This will basically turn the emitter on. You can ofcourse use this command at any time to turn an effect on or off.

and then in your game loop:

gpup_update() // update the particles

That's it.

If it's a triggered effect like an explosion that doesn't emit continuously, then you can use gpup_emitterFire(myEffect) to trigger it to fire the amount of particles you have specified in the editor.
Your game might ofcourse need several explosions at different places, for that you can reuse one effect and easily reposition it without moving already emitted particles from older explosions: gpup_setGlobalPivot( myEffect, x position, y position, z position )
Just make sure the emit count is set low enough that you have enough particles for several simultanious explosions and you are set.

Here is the complete code of an AppGameKit program that loads and displays an effect created in the editor:


Most of that code is just the standard AppGameKit initialization. Only the few commands I described above are particle related.


@haliop787
Some 2D helper functions are in the new update. It's ready to be sent out, but unfortunately the Vulkan/Metal stuff causes some issues with the effects in iOS exports (looks like a precision issue), so that needs to be ironed out first. On the bright side, hopefully future users using custom shaders and iOS targets will not have to deal with the same issues.
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2020 22:36 Edited at: 28th May 2020 04:49
@Resourceful
To be fair, the vid in your post is a pretty decent quality fluid simulation rendered with volume rendering, that would be a different addon using a totally different approach.
Effects in that quality would have to be at least partially pre-rendered.

If arcade style shroom explosions is enough, the addon should be able to do it.
Here is something very simple, about 15 minutes of tinkering. I am sure other users can make way better looking things with the system. (prebake own animated particle textures for instance)




Idea:
What if we added functionality to render into the particle texture easily, basically with a blend mask, distortion offset tex and a color+alpha gradient?
That would allow for much more flexibility for specialized effects like what you are after.
haliop787
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2020
Playing: With reality.
Posted: 28th Jun 2020 12:42 Edited at: 28th Jun 2020 13:05




Yesterday i played a bit with PE
And i came up with a suggestion to rule PE and even enabling it an option to be used without needing AGk At all.

So what i have thought about was

An export option to create animated sprites. As induvidual pngs or a Sprite sheet which then can be used in any other software.

This came up as i played with a cloud sequence and i pushed it to one million sprites the fps got to 30 and then i said how cool if i could fake up one million sprites as a giant and awesome cloud in my game but only use one sprite and 25 or 30 or 60 imgs. Or one decent sprite sheet.
Nadav "Haliop" Rosenberg
Lets make the world great forever.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 29th Jun 2020 10:08
Good idea. It's on the list for future additions. The thumbnail generation process could be easily used to render a sequence of snapshots to a spritesheet.
Would have to add controls for timings, sizes, spritesheet layouts and such, that will take a bit of fiddling. Maybe a popup similar to the export/import windows with all the settings to tinker around with and realtime feedback (showing the generated spritesheet with the curent settings)

haliop787
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2020
Playing: With reality.
Posted: 30th Jun 2020 14:41
So.. playing with PE
Tried the new 2d effects as clouds should be infront of the sun and not the other way around

Found a major bug.

This code :



Does not work on Agk Studio, tried all renderer options and double checked them, it seams that the clearscreen(0,0,0) is the only one that is working altough there is another one just after.

But on AgkClassic it does work great.

So ... I dont know if its Studio or PE problem.
Nadav "Haliop" Rosenberg
Lets make the world great forever.
GaborD
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2017
Location:
Posted: 30th Jun 2020 16:24 Edited at: 30th Jun 2020 16:37
Could you please give more info on what is happening? I will try to reproduce the issue.
Does it leave the textures fully black?
For me both 2D demos run without issues in Studio (both in Vulkan and GL), so there must be something else going on.
Which Studio version are you on? I will try to install the same and test around.
haliop787
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2020
Playing: With reality.
Posted: 30th Jun 2020 16:40
Latest studio version.
Latest classic version.

Well it works, but you see i mentioned the clearscreen for the additive particles , once i set it to (0,0,0) it stays like that. Meaning additive will not produce the right results.
Well that is if you use clear color.

Sorry for wasn't too clear about the bug.
Nadav "Haliop" Rosenberg
Lets make the world great forever.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-13 21:08:29
Your offset time is: 2020-08-13 21:08:29