Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / [SOLVED] 12-17-2019 Update - Unable To Build Android, But New HTML5 Building Works?

Author
Message
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 17th Dec 2019 18:47
Hi,

Just updated to 12/17/2019 version.
We can no longer build for Android?
(new HTML5 building works fine)

See screenshot of error:
Hope we can fix this, thanks!

Jesse

JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com

Attachments

Login to view attachments

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer

Amon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2014
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Dec 2019 19:27
I just tested Android export and get no problems at all. Pay attention to the error message. Try exporting to a different folder not on your desktop.
Win 10 Pro - AMD RYZEN 7 3800X Octacore - 16GB DDR4 - RTX 2080TI 11GB
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 17th Dec 2019 21:37 Edited at: 17th Dec 2019 21:38
Hi,

I already tried another directory besides "Desktop".
I am using Linux version of AppGameKit Studio (I suspect you are not).

Any other ideas?

I booted up Classic and it built Android just fine with the same build options...

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Dec 2019 21:53
I can replicate the problem on Linux, I'll see if I can find out what's causing it
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 17th Dec 2019 21:55
Oh, many thanks!

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 18th Dec 2019 10:54
I am on Kubuntu 18.04.3 LTS 64Bit Linux OS

Thanks. . .

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 19th Dec 2019 15:12
Any status of this issue?

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 19th Dec 2019 22:34
Unfortunately not, I'm away until January so I'll take another look at it then
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 19th Dec 2019 22:52
Ugg...
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 19th Dec 2019 23:36
I'll go back to Classic on my Linux and wait patiently for Studio to be fixed on Linux...

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 28th Dec 2019 02:43
Hope this is fixed soon...
I've been waiting to finally use Linux Studio for some time...

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
PHeMoX
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2018
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2020 16:04
I used to have this problem on Windows too when using Studio for the first time. It definitely seems related to write permissions on Windows itself somehow. If you allow Studio to create a new file, it should work. After that, it should be able to prompt you for overwriting the existing file and do so without much issues.

Unfortunately, even then it crashes AppGameKit Studio every ten or so times you export an new APK file and choose to overwrite. A lot of times the AppGameKit Studio will show an 'application not responding' in the title bar during export, only to come back after a bit of time. Sometimes it fails to return though with the APK export failing, so there's definitely some sort of bug at play. Maybe it is due to how files are used within Studio and the Preview window or Media Files window?
shawnh
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jul 2017
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2020 17:34
Oh, how disappointing to find out about this problem!

I was about to build an apk to test on phones and found out I also have this error. I've even tried opening agk:s with sudo. The whole reason I am using agk is for the linux IDE and android support!

I don't own windows so this is a big problem for me! I hope it gets fixed asap!
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 14th Jan 2020 21:23
AppGameKit Studio dev's say Android building on Linux will be fixed by end of this week...
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Jan 2020 15:11
I've uploaded version 2019.12.17b which should fix this
JeZxLee
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2017
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Posted: 17th Jan 2020 18:20
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
Hi,

Thanks for fixing Android building on Linux Studio.
On Linux Steam, Studio will update.
then you must do below for Android building to work on Linux Studio:

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
You can also check the "/home/user/.config/AGKApps/TheGameCreators/AgkStudio64" folder, if it contains a folder named "build_tmp" then delete it

--
Richard Vanner
support@appgamekit.com
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thanks again!

Jesse
JeZxLee
Fallen Angel Software
Video Game Design Studio
http://www.FallenAngelSoftware.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-19 07:48:43
Your offset time is: 2020-09-19 07:48:43