Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / [Asking for] Tips on complex game creation

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jan 2020 15:13 Edited at: 2nd Jan 2020 15:14
First of all, happy new year all.

I'm a professional developer (.net) but a noob on AGK. I've been playing with it for few years. Always just fiddling with it without really creating something.
It's simplicity in easy access and multi-platform-ready is just unique, it always kept my attention.

I recently started creating a 'battle-engine' for a game. Basically a few characters beating each other up.
Now i came to the point i got a nice first engine i can fire it up with the battle parameters and it does what it needs to do. It's the base of a large part my game.

I'm happy with the engine as it is for now and i feel I need to focus on other important parts, the less technical. I have no game developing experience and the following points are challenging to me

- developing a detailed story based on rough sketch of a story.
i can imagine some story boards or thinks like that might help me. i have found 'articydraft' tool that might help me. Are there story developing techniques you can advice that seem fit for game development?

- game balance, like character levels, damage damage, health etc
Are there any good samples ? should i just start fiddling in excel with formula's and try to figure it out?

If anyone has good examples or maybe can tell me how you handled these challenges i'm happy to hear about it.
PSY
Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jan 2020 15:31
Happy New Year

Quote: "- developing a detailed story based on rough sketch of a story.