Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Dark Basic Pro and Mod - Xm Files ?

Author
Message
Unkof
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 17:08
We can't used Mod and Xm Files in DB Pro ?...what a pity... mods files are great, and don't used a lot of cycle processing... in a next update, do you addition it ??.. the DB standard use a lot of zik format...
Specs: P4 1800 Mhz, 512 Mb, Gforce 4 - 64 Mb Ddr, W98
Sorry for my poor english
xtom
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Ireland
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 20:19
Strange that they're not supprted as standard any more. I think you can play them through dlls but that's not exactly an easy approach.
rapscaLLion
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 21:04
No more mod files???
I sure hope DBS changes their minds on that one!

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Get the DB Weekly Newsletter at www.dbwn.cjb.net
MushroomHead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 21:15
Try MikMod ... it's available from :-

http://www.bitplanet.de/mikwin/

- Rav.

Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 16th Sep 2002 04:21
It's because DBV1 had fmod in it. DBPro uses DirectMusic. I have written a function library for bassmod.dll so you can play mod's, xm's, etc in your programs easily and will release this shortly. If you look carefully at the screen shots of the IDE in the gallery on this site you'll see some of my code for it

Cheers,

Rich

"Gentlemen, we are about to short-circuit the Universe!"
DB Team / Atari ST / DarkForge / Retro Gaming
Unkof
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 16th Sep 2002 12:09
Thanks .... i will find and try it !..

Specs: P4 1800 Mhz, 512 Mb, Gforce 4 - 64 Mb Ddr, W98
Sorry for my poor english
MushroomHead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Sep 2002 12:28
Remember bassmod.dll is free for non-commercial use, shareware is $100 and commercial $2750. Mikmod is 100% free.

- Rav.

Unkof
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 16th Sep 2002 13:23
it's for non-commercial use.... thanks MushroomHead

Specs: P4 1800 Mhz, 512 Mb, Gforce 4 - 64 Mb Ddr, W98
Sorry for my poor english
Lampton Worm
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Sep 2002 14:59
Mikmod sounds cool.. so you can just call the .dll and provide the .xm as a parameter ? What else can you control..? Start/Stop/Volume etc. ? I could examine the source I guess but my .c ain't so good !

Cheers.
MushroomHead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Sep 2002 16:36
There's a DLL provided with the SDK so you can call the DLL directly, though DrakeX says there's a restriction placed by the number of arguments you can pass to a DLL, I think he couldn't get past the initialise stage of the DLL or something. If I get the chance, I can work on an easy wrapper for it ... I have already done a modplug one and you can grab it from :-

http://www.realgametools.com/yabbse/index.php?board=5;action=display;threadid=6416

Npmod32.dll is a little restricted with what it can do (that's how Oliver's designed it) but it does allow you to play XM, IT, MODS etc. The wrapper wouldn't work with DB for some reason but works fine with DBP.

- Rav.

N.B: Npmod32.dll cannot be used for commercial purposes though.

The Wendigo
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: A hole near the base of a tree in the US
Posted: 17th Sep 2002 02:57
There is a way around! If you have Modplug you can export to .WAV, then you can use an MP3 converter to make it an MP3. If anyone wants an MP3 converter for free, I made one in VB. I just gotta find it .

MushroomHead
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Sep 2002 12:28
Aha, but MP3's cannot be used in a commercial venture unless you're willing to pay $5000 upwards for a licence! Better option would be to use Ogg Vorbis codec which is 100% freeware under GNU opensource licence ...

- Rav.

Unkof
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 17th Sep 2002 20:03
Is someone who's making with an external dll a great equilizer like mediaplayr 7 in Db Pro or Db ???... i have not found a command for that .. someone have a dll for that ?

Specs: P4 1800 Mhz, 512 Mb, Gforce 4 - 64 Mb Ddr, W98
Sorry for my poor english
Pickles
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 18th Sep 2002 20:23
You do not have to pay $5000 dollars to use an MP3 file in your game. Not You anyways! To find out if you must pay to use an MP3 file in your software check out this site:

http://www.mp3licensing.com/help/developer.html

Here is a quote from that page describing who is excluded from having to pay license fees for playing back an MP3:

"Q - Do I need a license to distribute mp3/mp3PRO encoded content?"

The anser is yes, but read this.

"However, no license is needed for private, non-commercial activities (e.g., home-entertainment, receiving broadcasts and creating a personal music library), not generating revenue or other consideration of any kind or for entities with an annual gross revenue less than US$ 100 000.00"

Annual gross revenue of $100 000.00 - Your product will have to produce at least this amount of money per year befor you have to pay.

The developers of DBPro however have to pay on a revenue generated basis, because they use an MP3 player in DB.

They have payed that for you. And that is one of the real reasons people should be using DB. If you had to code you own MP3 player, you would be paying that license fee.

Pickles
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 18th Sep 2002 20:41
If you're really hitched, just use the AU format. Although the quality of the sound is not the best, you would be surprised as to how clear it can sound, and the compression is great. I could be wrong but I'm pretty sure the AU format is license free.

PS - Has anyone distributed over 5000 copies of their game?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-09-22 02:26:44
Your offset time is: 2019-09-22 02:26:44