Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / [SOLVED] Mouse over entity displays text or HUD?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2020 02:30
Hello,

I have one of Storyteller01's old adventure script that allows the player to walk up to an entity and press 'Enter' which displays a message saying "This is an old chest. It is empty". I want to add the ability for the player to walk up to the entity and if the player is looking at the entity, it displays a "?" so that the player knows that the entity can be interacted with. Here is what I have (Keep in mind that I have no FPSC scripting experience)

The lines with the // are my additions to the script.

The script works when I walk up to an entity and look at it and it will display the "?". However, nothing else work after that. When I remove my edits the script will work as it is supposed to. How to I fix this so that I can have the "?" popup and continue on with the interaction?

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer

ncmako
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2020 01:12 Edited at: 9th May 2020 01:31
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
PixelF First, Good start, But change all "timer" to etimer ( etimerstart & etimergreater)
And I see you have state=3 struck out where your "?" should be ? Let me test a little and get back with you.
And you want the "?" to be on screen at all times. Ok I think I get it now.

Ok, I see the problem. At this line of code...

State=4 does not go anywhere, it dead ends.

See if this works better for you...

Please note, I did not test this yet. And I don't know how you have this setup. So let me know if it works or anything else.