Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Is there a easier way to do this code for sprite falling?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Jul 2020 23:09 Edited at: 6th Jul 2020 00:17
I have full sprites falling on empty sprites to fill them with there info.

I have tested my code and it works, but it is for only two sprites

if I do it for all sprites nothing happens as only one sprite is above the other.

I cant get my mind around it.

Do i have to write 64 lines of code?

Sorry, Im still learning

this is how im doing it now, to many lines of code, over 64 times

Scraggle
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jul 2020 10:58 Edited at: 6th Jul 2020 11:03
Is this still the match3 game?
If so, you're really making this difficult for yourself.
What is the slot array for?
Why are you referencing the sprites by their ID number - Rule number one of coding is NEVER hard code any numbers. That is especially true for sprite ID's. You already have the references to them in board[x,y].spr

What I would do is add another variable to the type tCell called falling. It would be an integer behaving as a boolean (true of false \ 0 or 1).
After deleting (hiding) matches, check each cell to see if there is a visible sprite in the cell beneath it. If not then set the falling flag to true (1) .
Then loop through each cell updating the positions of any that are falling until they have all dropped into place.
Obviously you'll also need to create new sprites for the ones that are falling into the gaps at the top.

In short, to answer this: "Is there a easier way to do this code for sprite falling?"
Yes, there are many easier ways but probably very few ways you could make it more difficult than you are doing.