Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Structure my project in folders

Author
Message
Corno_1
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 9th Jul 2020 22:26
Hi guys,

I started my journey in APK Studio again and I want to structure my project a bit better.
Is there any way to create folders in the project which contain source code?

I already have 20 agc files for different purpose and it becomes confusing. So I want to create folders for gui-, start menu-, game- and config-files.

Is there a way to do it? If not could it be done or is an operational system a blocker for this feature?

Thanks in advance
PredicateC - FPSC to GameGuru FPE converter
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/211068
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 9th Jul 2020 23:27 Edited at: 9th Jul 2020 23:30
In your project file create folders ;
gui
start_menu
game
config

Then create source files in those directories;
gui/gui.agc
start_menu/menu.agc
game/gameplay.agc
config/config.agc

In your main.agc source file add;


you could also create the folders in a "include" folder in the same folder that contains your project and include them like so;


That way you can share them among other projects
Corno_1
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 10th Jul 2020 08:28
Quote: "In your project file create folders ;
gui
start_menu
game
config"

Can you explain that a bit more? I did not find any entry with create folder in the IDE. There are also no folders listed in the agk-files.
Or did you mean I need to create nested projects?
PredicateC - FPSC to GameGuru FPE converter
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/211068
Kevin Cross
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posted: 10th Jul 2020 08:35
You create the folders in Windows/Mac file system. Studio doesn't have the option to create folders from what I've seen. The problem with that is you still end up with your 20 AGC files all in one list with no visible folder/tree structure in Studio.
OryUI - A WIP AGK2 UI Framework
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 10th Jul 2020 08:50
Quote: "The problem with that is you still end up with your 20 AGC files all in one list with no visible folder/tree structure in Studio"

Studio preferences has an option to remove/not remove path names from source file tabs.
Corno_1
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 10th Jul 2020 09:01
Thanks for your answers. Sadly not the answer I want to hear.

@Kevin Cross
Thanks for the wonderful gui framework
PredicateC - FPSC to GameGuru FPE converter
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/211068
Kevin Cross
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posted: 10th Jul 2020 09:09
Quote: "Studio preferences has an option to remove/not remove path names from source file tabs."


I think the OP is after something like this below in Studio. Hiding/Showing the folder name in the tab doesn't really help

OryUI - A WIP AGK2 UI Framework
Corno_1
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 10th Jul 2020 10:26 Edited at: 10th Jul 2020 10:31
Yes, a bit like this. I do not need everything inside, but at least I want to create a folder in the IDE and place my source files there.
PredicateC - FPSC to GameGuru FPE converter
https://forum.game-guru.com/thread/211068

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-26 16:53:52
Your offset time is: 2024-04-26 16:53:52