Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Should I upgrade to studio

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Mar 2021 14:37
Hi I have been using AGK2 for a few years and am thinking of upgrading to Studio. I've noticed a problem with the fps in the trial edition . It starts off ok but then dips down to 50 fps which is slower than AGK2 running exactly the same project. What do you think upgrade or not? Thanks for reading.
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Mar 2021 14:45
What do you want to do in Studio that you can't do in AGK2 unless you want to use the scene editor/have Vulkan support? I wouldn't go on too much by a demo.
I personally prefer AGK2, but that's just me.
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
Pfaber1
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Mar 2021 15:22
I really wanted it for the vulkan support although in the trial it was a bit choppy compared to using it in renderer basic mode. Might just be the trial though.
SFSW
Years of Service
User Offline
It could also be the system you are testing on. If you are using a laptop with split display devices (an integrated plus a dedicated GPU), many mobile configurations don't yet pick up Vulkan very well and need to be manually enabled in order to best utilize that API. Otherwise, you'll be comparing an integrated display device trying to manage Vulkan and comparing it to a dedicated GPU running OpenGL. And the OpenGL on a dedicated GPU will do much better. So if Vulkan is running significantly worse/choppy compared to the 'basic' render mode, that is something to check.

To enable a mobile GPU for Vulkan on Windows 10: