Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Artistry Question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Well, my 2D engine for my first real game is comming along nicely. However, I forsee a couple roadblocks in the art department. Namely, I'm a terrible 2D graphic artist, but I easily adapt and can pump out some good 3D models. Is there any solutions for me (basically, how can I apply good 3D modelling skills to a 2D game).

Remdering stuff is probably going to be your first answer. However, what is the most effecient way to render, and without using a program as complicated as POV-Ray (it's like swatting a fly with a twin-barreled-shotgun, IMO).

In addition, there are some people who complain of 2D shooters with a "rendered look" to them. Apparently, they are not even satisfied with VERY-high-poly models that were rendered. They demand the "pixil artist" look to the ships and stuff. What would you say to critics like that.

"The keyboard is mightier than the sword."
At the Gates
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2004 03:32
Well... you could render your characters in 3d, resize them in
some 2d program. Then erase the anti-aliasing stuff (smooth corners
around the character)... after that, use a 1px brush to paint it
over with the colors you want. Ugh... got it?

Think like this: You have this cool character in a magazine and you
want to draw an exactly the same. Put a white paper over the
original picture and start drawing...

God is Dead
Northern Fist
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2004 05:29 Edited at: 12th Feb 2004 05:29
Thanks. I'll see what I can do - given that all I have is paint .

What about rendering programs? Is there an alternative to Pov-RAY (see second paragraph)?