Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Formated Function (DLL?) Suporting Per-Pictel (or per-pixel even) shading

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Nov 2002 21:56
I am a veteran of Dark Basic, and will be getting DB Pro soon... I am curious; is there a formatted function or DLL that can be used to expand DB Pro to support the per-pictel or even per-pixel shading found in the next line of graphics cards to be released? I believe that this type of shading will soon be the standard for 3d rendering of scenes and even individual 3d objects.

Also, what sort of formatting is needed? Is this explained in the handbook that (hopefully) comes with DB Pro?

Any help or feedback with this would be appreciated.
Shadow Robert
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Nov 2002 04:46
Pixel Shading is currently a part of the GeForce Only (3/4/FX/XGL) enhancements that DBpro has.
Currently the support is limited and setup is also quite limited due to thier intergration, however as 1.05 is to have the rewritten Engine - I would guess that at that point you will be given better and deeper access to the shaders.

Until we have the Third Party Function SDK there is little anyone can do to actually improve upon what the DBS staff have already provided as Shaders using a back buffer access within a DLL would require a second render resolution running DirectX parrellel to DarkBasic Pro which could cause instabilities and at the very least will half the performance of the program.

It is getting worrying how many people are asking for these advanced graphics techniques...