Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need help with Animated sprite...

Author
Message
DracoFireDragon
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2002 07:59
My sprite has 4 frames of animation...
I put in this code:

Create animated Sprite 2,"EvilKnight.bmp",69,105,2

Do
play sprite 2,1,4,20
Sync
loop


And nothing happens whats wrong....
DracoFireDragon
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2002 08:14
You'd think this would work but where does the sprite get placed on the screen????

Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 1st Dec 2002 16:39
You may still need to use the Sprite command to position your graphic.

try:

Create animated Sprite 2,"EvilKnight.bmp",69,105,2
Sprite 2,0,0,2

Do
play sprite 2,1,4,20
Sync
loop

"Earth is the cradle of humanity,
but one cannot live in a cradle forever"
Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky (1911)
Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 1st Dec 2002 17:00
...hang on a minute, I just noticed something, is your character realy made up of 7245 frames!?

I think you gotten a little confused with the Create Animated Sprite command. Like confusing across and down with screen co-ords.

Create Animated Sprite sprite number, filename, across, down, image number

across, down refere to the number of frames in the source image, they should idealy call them frames across and frames down.

According to your example your source image is 69 frames across and 105 frames down, thats a lot of frames!

"Earth is the cradle of humanity,
but one cannot live in a cradle forever"
Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky (1911)
DracoFireDragon
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2002 23:23
wow thanks although I made my sprite sheet perfectly and it doesnt look very good...

DracoFireDragon
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2002 23:40
IS Create animated sprite messed up or something?

I do:

Create animated Sprite 2,"EvilKnight2.bmp",1,2,2
Sprite 2,0,0,2

Do
play sprite 2,1,2,100
Sync
loop

and he has two frames and then on the second frame his feet disappear and he sinks a little...grrrrrr. And on his image he is perfectly alligned

Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 00:31
Hmmmm, what is the size of the source image?

"Earth is the cradle of humanity,
but one cannot live in a cradle forever"
Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky (1911)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-25 12:07:37
Your offset time is: 2024-04-25 12:07:37