Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / fps Tutorial

Author
Message
FINN MAN
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2004
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2004 00:27
i wont to make a fps like Wolfenstein. but need a litle help. can any one help me or give me and a a game that i can look at the code from?

{+<
Neofish
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2004
Location: A swimming pool of coke
Posted: 3rd May 2004 01:45
r u a complete newb?
r u usin DBC or DBP?


FINN MAN
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2004
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2004 04:07
i am not a complete newb but am prity new and am using dbc. can you help me or tell me ware to go?
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 5th May 2004 10:12
Check out Monster Hunt, and just search the forums for FPS, there should be plenty of example snippets. After you become familiar with DB through the method of reading/replying to/starting posts you can then start taking apart other people's projects and seeing what they do, and how you can change them around for fun. Then you need to plan your game. Plan every little intricate detail possible. Think how detailed you can get right now....got it? Plan more detailed than that.

In your plans should be some sort of system map. It's basically a drawing (think of all the boxes with arrows and lines you see in tech books), this describes the different sections of code and what they do. Build each of those individually, test them out in a stable environment, then when they're all working right put them all together with a test level and debug. This will be your prototype. Then you can start working on the actual production which includes the following:

Art creation
Sound creation
Level design
Level construction
Bug fixes

After you get the basic idea of a production down where the player gets some simple pleasure out of killing some bad guys, then start to work on player empathy and story.

Make the player feel important, make sure they are always having fun, and make sure your writing doesn't stand out--because bad writing calls attention to itself (writing=plot, dialogue[which includes plot development in a cutscene, and whenever the guy is just talking ie: you shoot a guy with a rocket launcher and the character says. "He's going to have a headache in the morning, etc.], etc.).

Crazy Donut Productions, Current Project: KillZone
Web Site Button Does Not Work, Visit Here: http://www.geocities.com/crazydonutproductions/index.html
Arkheii
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: QC, Philippines
Posted: 5th May 2004 11:46
Crazy Donut, that's a complete FPS you're talking about. It's gonna be difficult to refine that. The collision can be pretty tough, and many people will likely recommend the nuclear glory dll.

FINN MAN, what I would suggest is slowly code the small bits that your fps might require as separate snippets. Make a small project that focuses only on collision, another that has to do with level loading, another for shooting and handling bullets, etc. Once you've done those, start making your FPS by building upon the experience you learned from those snippets. It's better to work bit by bit because it makes you feel that you're actually accomplishing something, rather than doing a big project and getting bored because there's nothing playable yet. It's also a great way to sort out possible problems early on, like what drops framerate, what causes crashes, etc. because you know that the problem is specific to only one piece of code.


ROFLMAOOL!
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2004 13:17
I actually made a wolfenstein thing with the same original textures, it eventually died because I took all the code and made the goldeneye remake instead. Email me and we'll sort something out, would be fun to try and revive that old code.
Arkheii
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: QC, Philippines
Posted: 5th May 2004 15:49
By Wolfenstein, are you saying that you're making an FPS... using the old rendering techniques, with no DB 3d "objects" in the scene? As in, the _old_ Wolfenstein?


ROFLMAOOL!
FINN MAN
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2004
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2004 05:21
this is all very help full that wolfenstein project sound prity cool, i will think about that. what is (Monster Hunt)?
Jobyman
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2004 21:32
i think its the example of the FPS that comes with DB. even if it isnt you shoudl check it out. Its in the tutorial folder i think. its very good for learning the bsics of an FPS

Everyone is a comedian...
soapyfish
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2003
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 6th May 2004 21:48 Edited at: 6th May 2004 21:52
You can download it from this website, go to the top of the page now and click on Game Development then choose Dark Basic, go to tutorials and have a look for it.

code2kill

EDIT:: Hey, just gone and got a link.http://darkbasic.thegamecreators.com/?f=tutorials


PREVIOUSLY codemonkey 0gamemad0
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2004 16:12 Edited at: 7th May 2004 16:13
Here's a screeny of my DBC Wolfenstein clone. It had everything, doors all worked, entity placement routines, collision, if you want to have a look at it I'll make a build, then we can see about you having some code.

FINN MAN
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th May 2004 00:29
I want to have a look at it, it is just what i am looking for.
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 9th May 2004 02:45
Well it will have to be a bit of a collaboration, but I don’t have a lot of time. My email is andy [ @ ] enigmatekuk.com, let me know your plan for the game, ideas and skills and I will sort out some source code and a demo for you.
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 9th May 2004 04:38
Andy198, that looks pretty cool, do you have an exe or something available for download?

Crazy Donut Productions, Current Project: KillZone
Web Site Button Does Not Work, Visit Here: http://www.geocities.com/crazydonutproductions/index.html
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 9th May 2004 21:29
I've uploaded a nice demo for you guys. Check out the link and let me know what you think of it.

http://www.enigmatekuk.com/SOR4/WolfDemo.zip

I've quickly added bullets and enemies to make it more fun, they dont shoot back yet though. It's full DBC and it is so simple to write levels. Just for fun, here is the level data used to construct the level you see:
Emperor Baal
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands - Oudenbosch
Posted: 10th May 2004 01:05
Andy198, I might save your *peep* this time, your demo has a full model + texture from darkmatter. You might want to remove it

Quote: "
UPDATED

Amd 2800+ 1024mb pc3200 A7N8X - Deluxe Ati Radeon 9800PRO 256mb
"
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2004 02:45
Oh is that not allowed? I just needed a quick model to demonstrate the basic idea. I'll remove the file from the server then. Sheesh, try to do a guy a favour.....
Game Freak10K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2004 09:40
And I just read this today
Damnit I wanted to see that game!!!

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2004 11:33
The game is still in development and is moving at a really impressive pace. If I had a German model then I could release a proper demo. If you have one then you will be able to see. It has an in-game map now, and all the entitles are loaded from an INI file, so it is sooooo versatile, before long the weapons will be done like this too.
The levels are all text based and easy to design. I've no cloned half the original 1st level. In fact, here's the 1st level now, straight from the file just so you can see how easy it is. There's more to come too! Finmann and I are adding more daily.

Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 18th May 2004 20:52
@Andy198: Very cool. Just one little detail. Check you profile under webpage and put http:// infront cause atm you web link at the bottom of you messages goes to an error site.

http://darkbasic.thegamecreators.com/www.enigmateuk.com


Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 21st May 2004 15:15
Thanks for the tip chaos, done it now and it works.

I've been working on the editor the last couple of days and I'm pleased to say it's finished! Here’s a screenshot:



I'm gonna distribute the executable to anyone who fancies making a level so if you want the job, want your level making skills forever immortalized in a virtual world then drop me a post!

All that’s left now is a bit of enemy AI, a gun and ammo system shake-up and then its down to modelling. (If anyone wants to make some soldiers I would really appreciate it).

Let me know what you think of the editor.
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st May 2004 15:31
That looks like an extremly good level editor. Is it mouse or key based or both? Ill give level making a shot always had a heart for level design.

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 21st May 2004 16:46
Well its both, the mouse is used for selecting what you want to place, then you use the keys to move the map cursor, enter to place your object or delete to delete what’s under the cursor. I didn't fancy the maths of making it 100% mouse-based and this seems to work better anyway.


I'll be able to release the level editor to anyone who wants to make a level the minute I get an Enemy Guard that isn't one off the DarkMatter pack, otherwise I'll get me cyber-wrists slapped. Can't wait to see what you guys come up with!
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st May 2004 16:48 Edited at: 21st May 2004 17:39
From the Darkmatter Page:
Models are royalty free for use in your own games

Map editor looks cool. Cant wait to try it out. I see what you mean by the system looks like it will work well.

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
Peter H
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 21st May 2004 18:19 Edited at: 21st May 2004 18:19
i'll make a level for you!!! when the level editor is done just send it to me


Formerly known as "DarkWing Duck"
soapyfish
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2003
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 21st May 2004 20:03
Nice level ed, does it work by actually building the level like cart shop or placing icons on the screen that represent numbers which are turned into object in the game like pac-man.

I SHOULDN'T BE POSTING THIS, I SHOULD BE WORKING ON SOLO, SO PLEASE IGNORE IT.
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st May 2004 20:19
@ Code to Kill by the looks of it it places objects and fills an array. Then when saving the array is saved to a text file as ASCII charcters. These are then loaded to the engine where they are conerted back to objects.


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 21st May 2004 21:30
Clever boy chaos, right in one. Its not ASCII characters though, its a little string. e.g. w1, w2, w3... for the different walls where the number corresponds to the texture. e1,e2 etc are entities 1,2,3 etc. Far too many etc in that list but hey I'm sure you get the idea. If this is successful I might even release the source code or make it into a walkthrough to benefit everyone.

So, let me get your opinions on this:
Quote: "From the Darkmatter Page:
Models are royalty free for use in your own games
"

Can I distribute my demo with the model in it? Or is that a slappable offence? So was Emperor Baal was just being a little anti-Db and pinching models? Oh I don’t know, can someone come clarify this for me? :-|
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st May 2004 21:33
Yes you can distribute it with anything thats what royalty free means.


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
sarin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2004
Location: nowhere
Posted: 23rd May 2004 03:55
ill try a shot at level editing too. send me an .exe and a text help file (or explain it a bit more in an email if there is no help) and ill try making a level

P.S. How many more levels r there left to place? do u have a definite size on the game or is it just a bigger-the-better thing with room for improvement?

Sarin
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 23rd May 2004 12:41
There’s no definite size really, just as big as it takes. If you give me a little time I'll make a level development kit where you can actually play the levels you make, so it will be much better for you all to test. I'll add a help file to it as well.

Thanks for all the interest, didn't think anyone would want the job but you have all surprised me. I'll get this sent out as quickly as I can ‘cos I can’t wait to see what you come up with.
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 23rd May 2004 14:10
@ Andy :
Quote: "If you give me a little time I'll make a level development kit where you can actually play the levels you make"


That sounds like a cool idea cant wait for the level editors release.

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
sarin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2004
Location: nowhere
Posted: 24th May 2004 02:39
andy, my email is [email protected]
when the level editor is done, send me a copy and ill try my hand at it in my spare time (should have a lot; summer is fun!)

Sarin
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2004 00:38
chaos, the level editor has been released, finnman and sarin have a copy, just email me and you'll get your own.
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th May 2004 19:49
Hey great news



Give me a bell email in code

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
soapyfish
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2003
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 25th May 2004 20:09
Hey all,
If ya need anyone else to help with the levels Andy, I wouldn't mind giving it a shot, I've just started work on my own FPS so have loads of rough ideas for levels lying around , if your interested just say.

I SHOULDN'T BE POSTING THIS, I SHOULD BE WORKING ON SOLO, SO PLEASE IGNORE IT.
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 26th May 2004 17:17
No problems mate, just send me an email or give me your email address and I'll send you the LDK kit. So what do you guys think of it? Anyone made a decent level?
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th May 2004 17:27 Edited at: 26th May 2004 17:39
Hey Andy Nice Editor just playing around with it now.

I think i may have found an error but i am going to play with it some more just incase.

OK here is my error list
Runtime error when you shoot enemies
runtime error when you place begin level object
a few textures dont work
Vertical movemt tool generates a runtime error also

Thanks for listening

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
soapyfish
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2003
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 26th May 2004 19:33
Thanks for the opportunity, my e-mail is [email protected] Looking forward to starting.

I SHOULDN'T BE POSTING THIS, I SHOULD BE WORKING ON SOLO, SO PLEASE IGNORE IT.
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2004 02:05
Chaos,

Problems solved:
*Runtime error when you shoot enemies
*runtime error when you place begin level object

can you give me a bit more info on:
Quote: "
*a few textures don’t work
*Vertical moment tool generates a runtime error also
"


Then I will rebuild the project and upload it to the same place as your link to the old file so you can have the new version. There will also be the new weapon system I'm working on.

code2kill, check your inbox
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2004 03:47
Hmm, managed it sooner than I though. I have uploaded the file (just follow that link all you privileged people have; the new weapon system is finished, and the bug fixes are done. I've added a few cool bits too; you can play it and see what you think. Not much left now, gonna do the knife tomorrow all being well, then add the weapons to the entity list for picking up ammo, then add few props like plant pots etc... That wont leave a heck of a lot more to do.

I’ve noticed a couple of bugs which will need to be fixed, bullet collision is one, and buggy textures on the entities are another. Oh and the system seems to nuke the player’s health to zero on loading the level for some weird reason. I’ll try and fix these for the next release.

Hope you like what I’ve done with the game (although a lot of it is behind the scenes I’m afraid)
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th May 2004 14:04
Well all thats missing is the end level option now. I cant seem to place an end level tile . Otherwise everything else is working. Oh but the enemy collsion is abit bugy when you shoot them. Sometimes it works but others they just stand there.

Great game otherwise.

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2004 15:42
Well I have been very busy this morning, ironing out bugs and adding bits and pieces. I sorted out the weird health bug and widened the collision radius for the bullets and enemies.
Also:

Gun sounds - check 'guns.ini' and 'sounds.ini' to add your own, there are some basic ones there. I'll re-do the upload later on and let you know so you can play.

The entitles system has been touched up, had a few minor glitches as you may have seen.

Guns have now been added to the pickup list - You start with just the pistol, then as you find weapons, you can use them, go in to the room next door to see what I mean.

I never told you this before, slipped my mind, the clever ones among you may have figured it out, but if you go the levels\ folder and open up the text files, there are a few values you can play with, they are buggy in your build, so get the next one later and then play around. The settings are:
IntroVid=none
OutroVid=none
StartHealth=100
StartAmmo=10
StartingWeapons=1
The video bits do nothing really, but will do when someone makes some cut-scenes. I added the support at finnman's request.

I think that should about bring you all up to speed. I'll leave the weapon system as it is for the time being, eventually I'll add grenades etc, but it works well for now. Next on the cards is a bit of enemy movement. I may get round to a bit of AI, maybe even some return fire, depends on what bugs you lot can tell me about in the meantime. I'd rather get everything fixed before making things more complicated.

This seems to have turned into about the longest post in history, so I’ll get back to work before you all die of boredom. Check back for that update soon.
Chaos
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th May 2004 15:44
No news about the end level system?

lol. Sounds like your working hard at it.

Chaos


[center] New Project announcment coming soon[center]
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2004 15:55
Ah yes that, hmmm, give me an hour or so, just have to model the lift then write in the code. I might have to just chuck you out to a quick half-assed level end screen though, till I get some better artwork. I'll do that for you chaos, and then post the new build. Thanks for telling me.
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2004 17:34
Done, download the new build from the link you all have. its got Level end, sound effects, there's loads more in there, we're cooking on gas now my friends. Gimme some bug fixes and ideas and I'll do some more while I’m in the mood.
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2004 02:29
Oh I really hate to triple post, but I added enemy movement, and finally got round to making the knife work. I fixed a load of bugs too. It’s uploaded now so check the link (again (sorry)). Apart from getting the enemies to shoot back, and adding a bit of graphical shine, it’s about done!

As an aside, do you thing a game load / save option would be a good idea? Or do you think that it would ruin the game play?
sarin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2004
Location: nowhere
Posted: 28th May 2004 11:43
the load/save idea? i dont no. sry, i would have gotten to downloading the stuff sooner but ive been busy and havent checked email or forum.
sry man, ill give ya input soon as downloaded (happening now, but maybe ill talk in the morning, as its 12:40 or somethin.

Sarin
sarin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2004
Location: nowhere
Posted: 28th May 2004 11:55
okay, maybe im not downloading it. somethings messed up here. andy, whenever i try and download the .zip file of the level ed you gave me in the email, it works fine until the 8 or 9 percent and then it finishes the download, opens it, and when my expander trys to open it it says the drive isnt writeable or something. my drive Is writeable, but is the error on the link or on my end?

Sarin
Goldeneye Nemesis
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2004 12:28
I downloaded the file successfully here, although to be safe I re-uploaded the file. Give it another go. Maybe my host is playing up because I can’t seem to long on with ftp, not like them though, they are usually 110% reliable.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-27 21:05:39
Your offset time is: 2025-05-27 21:05:39