Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Xmas Pressy from me - Mr Purps Cherry Pie :D

Author
Message
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 19th Dec 2002 21:37
here it is Mr Purps Cherry Pie

[url]www.cadsupport.co.uk/dbpro/mrpurps.zip[/url]
2.3MB

keys are left, up, right keys. collect the cherries and run to the goal. The more lives you have the better the pie.

God I hope it doesnt crash

tell me what type of pie you get if you can get that far. I cant finish it, hehe
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 19th Dec 2002 21:39 Edited at: 16th Aug 2003 00:18
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 19th Dec 2002 22:39
All levels were created using my lightwave scene exporter ... plug plug. Ah here are some screenies too



and another



Kangaroo2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 02:58
looks gr8 cant w8 2 download

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Benjamin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 04:19
Looks good, im gonna play it

xxxpetratxxx
B. R. W
Kangaroo2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 14:08
Just downloaded and played the game, nice graphics and good level design with the bad guys circling the cherries

Unfortunately it only runs at about two frames per second (no exageration ) - I'm pretty sure this is not too complicated for my PC, its a 800Mhz 512Mb Ram, 64Mb GF4 card - Maybe you saved it as a fullscreen exclusive mode rather than a windowed fullscreen mode? This is the only reason I can think of.

Other than that this is a really cool project Next I would add some music and a gameover screen. Keep up the good work!

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 14:17
hehe hufenpuffin 3d pipeline . ah well at least I dont have to worry about putting in my timer() code till patch 4 then . Yeah Little Bro is going to show me some fruity looops, bought that app last year and never touched it. Now I have an excuse .

Ah I suck at coding so its more than likely I did do fullscreen Exclusive didgerydoo thingy

pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 14:21
there is a winners page if you win I cant change that fullscreen mode thing till saturday.

Kangaroo2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 17:07
Nevermind its still a really cool game and will probably run well on a faster PC than mine, or if you did use the fullscreen mode, it'll work better on below 500Mhz PCs but not on higher, according to one article I read.

BTW I don't think you "suck" at programming, its really cool

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Benjamin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 17:11
Hey kangaroo!

xxxpetratxxx
B. R. W
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2002 17:22
ah but what kind of pie did you make

Kangaroo2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Dec 2002 01:17
Sorry like I said it is toooooo slow (2 fps) on my PC so I played for around 45 mins and only got to the 2nd level WITHOUT DYING! Sorry not kidding Please go into DBPro, click the red settings tab then make sure "Windowed - Full Screen" is clicked then save it again. (If its no that it MUST b a pipeline problem...)

I honestly want to play this properly - I love the Graphics style, it reminds me a lot (graphically at least) of "Revenge of the Mutant Penguins" on the Atari Jaguar.

(I know I know "reminds you of WHAT on the Atari WHAT??" obscure reference lol)

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Benjamin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 21st Dec 2002 04:08
It is the same speed for everyone...shame coz its a good game. If you animate the people in the actual coding then cut the frames in half and only do say....10-20-30 ect..instead of 5-10-15-20

xxxpetratxxx
B. R. W
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2002 14:31
frell its on windowed - fullscreen

pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2002 14:35
Iam getting 30 fps on the laptop. p4 1000, 256mb ram, with 32mb video. Guess its wait for patch 4 then :/

Kangaroo2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Dec 2002 18:19
Ooooh Ok sorry - thats weird - cos on paper we have similar pcs. My processor is slightly slower but my ram and graphics are slightly more! Can any1 suggest a solution?

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Rob K
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 03:10
I am getting about 5FPS on my GF3 Ti200 / P4 1.6Ghz / 512 RAM. Considering the graphical complexity of the scene, which is fairly low, it should run much faster. Try playing around and see if you can improve it.

NOBODY has a forum name as stupid as Darth Shader. I do.
Kangaroo2
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 06:36
Oh well at least its not just me I'm confused as to why this works well on Pathfinder's pc but not ours? Any ideas Darth?

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Rob K
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 19:08
No, sorry.

NOBODY has a forum name as stupid as Darth Shader. I do.
pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 21:51
ill try a few compile methods, see what blows up

pathfinder
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 22:58
lol I really think Iam going to have to wait for the next patch . The compiled version runs slower than running source code. Some odd stuff going on.

Rob K
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 23:32
"lol I really think Iam going to have to wait for the next patch"

I think you need to play around with the source code, rather than waiting for patch 4. If it runs at 2FPS now and even if patch 4 makes the program run 10x faster, it will still only run at 20FPS.

NOBODY has a forum name as stupid as Darth Shader. I do.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-07-16 03:45:35
Your offset time is: 2019-07-16 03:45:35