Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Loading the BSP from the Blitz Demo

Author
Message
Rob K
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 12:08
I tried to load the BSP from the Blitz Basic BSP demo (which uses a Quake3 map - nyk3dm1.bsp) - DBPro started loading the BSP and I waited... for several minutes... and nothing happened.

DBPro seems to take far to long to load BSPs. The BB BSP is quite small by most standards.

Lee, if you are going to included BSP support, it needs to be fast and efficient.

I would also like a status update on Patch #2.
what is a signature?
haggisman
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 14:52
umm, don't just blame DBpro without even posting any code. It could be you're fault as well.

Specs:- 1GHZ athlon, Radeon8500, 192mb ram
Rob K
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 16:34
I used the BSP fly-around code from the City demo (see the RGT forums) - It fails during Load BSP which is virtually the first command. If it failed subsequently then I might agree with you.

what is a signature?
haggisman
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 17:19
is the bsp in a pak file? I can't city demo on the RGT forums, just post your code up here!

Specs:- 1GHZ athlon, Radeon8500, 192mb ram
Rob K
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 19:34
The BSP file and media (the media is not in a pak file) are in the same folder as the source code.

I have uploaded the source & media files:

http://robertknight.port5.com/downloads/bsp.zip



what is a signature?
Fireburst
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 20:46
Did you try the world 1 example that comes with DBpro (this uses bsp)?

In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is.
haggisman
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 20:58
DBpro will only accept BSP's that are in a .pk3 (pak) file even though the manual says otherwise. So just zip up the BSP files and it should work.

so just change lines to
load bsp "bsp.pk3","nyk3dm1.bsp"
and
position camera 0, 10, 0

it worked on mine.

Specs:- 1GHZ athlon, Radeon8500, 192mb ram
haggisman
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 21:21
gah i just noticed the movement code was really buggy on that, so i altered it, so if you have any problems try using the following code. BTW my framerate was through the roof



Specs:- 1GHZ athlon, Radeon8500, 192mb ram
Rob K
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 22:14
OK that worked... sorry I blamed DBPro people. The City demo didn't use a PK3 file though.

I created a ZIP file with all the textures etc. in and renamed in to PK3 but the textures weren't loaded (all the walls are just grey)

what is a signature?
haggisman
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 21st Sep 2002 22:35
Im not really sure but i think you have to setup a texture directory in the pk3 for the BSP to look proper.

Specs:- 1GHZ athlon, Radeon8500, 192mb ram

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-17 15:14:13
Your offset time is: 2019-11-17 15:14:13