Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / webspace4all

Author
Message
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Dec 2002 14:43
Hi all.
my site [url]www.macrosoft.v-2-1.net[/url] (in dbplanet's affiliates page) offers webspace for game hosting totally free!
this gives you the opportunity to, if you don't have a site', make your game available to all. or you can just have a free mirror location. all i ask is that you post a link to my website on yours.(if you dont have a site just tell people about mine)
just goto my site and click 'submit'
due to the fact that i only have a 56k modem i'll only be able to do one or 2 a month
note: this is limited to freewafre games if you want a demo of something commercial you have to send me a fully registered copy as payment.

Ben
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Dec 2002 18:42
does anyone want webspace??????????????????????:-s

Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 05:31
on a 56k connection don't expect many to jump at the chance... perhaps upgrade to a 2.5,3 or 5mbit line - then it'll be more appealing.

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 12:27
my webserver can take a broad-band conection speed it just takes me a long time to upload/download.
on broad-band/adsl it should be about 100 kb per second.
that 2mins for 12mb.

QuothTheRaven
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 27th Dec 2002 03:54
dude.....you're on a k.....no
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Dec 2002 20:56
whats the big deal if i'm using a 56k modem? it makes no difference to what other people have got. i just use my cruddy 56k to upload files for mirrors. and everyone else can use their adsl to download them.
so whats the prob with using a 56k?????????
Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 10:28
lol... well oki - ask someone to set you up a phpScript to allow people to upload thier own files based on user password.

Cause you have a say small 20mb demo on a 56k general upload speed are 33.6kbps which mean approx. 2hr 30min upload time, might download fast - however if we have to sit here and wait several days for it to upload ya know
Plus you've gotta download it from us first ... hehee

just sayin' is all

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 17:11
i dont see why you worry about that. it wont take you 2hrs30 to send an email attachment will it???? after all i'm offering it totally free. if you can set up a php thingy then fine i'll do that.
Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 18:36
lol ... well it more a case that, alot of people mail boxes don't normally get too large.
My AOL one is one of the larger once i've seen which still has a limit of 16Mb send|recieve per email... though i've got them as large as 160Mb before (not fun on an isdn lol)

actually the point more is here, say 5 people send you projects now some will be small but most will be between 5-50mb ... so if thats the case it'll take YOU between 15min to 4hours to download then a further 25min-7hours to upload and thats per upload!

i know personally I wouldn't have the time to be on the internet that long whilst i run all sorts of other things, and have to wait between reboots incase i install ne hardware or run out of memory and can't reset it.
Plus i know all too well how in a big transfer the connection decides at like 90% just to go :: CLICK :: and your offline.

so ya know i'm not saying this just for pure speed, but also to say YOU time and effort
if you need to know howto program it hop over to http://www.lycos.co.uk under Build a Site there is a php4u section - will help you
a better option might be to download a forum which can front and allow users to access and upload in the forum - as long as the hotlinking is allowed which i'm guessing is, then all you'll need to do is link the upload within the forum

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 30th Dec 2002 16:48
i dont think my webserver is compatible with php. :-( but if you look at my submit page it says do not atatch i'll reply with a date and no biger than 10mb without it being put in sections e.g. bundles of like 2 levels at a go.
but until my dad can afford adsl im stuck with 56k :-(
Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 16:51
check out ET Global Solutions as they do ADSL within the UK for £18/month (any telephone provider) ... if thats now where your based lemme know and i'll drum up a cheap deal for your country (^_^)
AT&T Broadband very cheap US Broadband and the most widely available right now

(^_^) just thought i'd mention

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 31st Dec 2002 18:44
sorry but i'm only 14 so i dont have £18 a month coming in

if anyone has a game (less than 10mb) that they'd like on my site, send me an e-mail and we'll see what we can do.

[url]mailto:contact.macrosoft@v21.me.uk[/url]
hope to hear!
Benjamin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 1st Jan 2003 01:13
im only 14 too lol. i might pursuade my dad to get broardband coz there is loads of different offers for different speeds...

xxxpetratxxx
B. R. W
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Jan 2003 23:40
Hey Petrat what does BRW stand for?
Cos my name is Ben Ross Ward, is it your initials too?
Benjamin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 01:15
yeah, those r my initials

xxxpetratxxx
B. R. W
Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 13:10
not earning that at 14??
damn not even a paper round? ... i could get upto £18 a week on my paper route
especially around christmas cause of tips
being young ain't no excuse

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 16:59
to be honest i'm too damn lasy to get up at 5:30 every morning, and too busy for an afternoon round.
and besides, i'm not likely to spend every penny of my earnings on an internet connenction.
i occasionally make 30-50 quid when i sell a top-notch pc to someone.

athlon XP2k
80gb ata 133 hdd
5.1 surround sound card (no speakers)
128mb ddr 256bit dvi video
256mb pc266 ddr ram
400watt psu in a case
17" .27dp 1280x1024 screen
48x12x50 burner
devoid of O/S- - - -£580!! (+£350p&p)
Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 17:56
£350 p&p?? WTF?? where are you sending it too Mars??

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
John H
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 18:02
Dont know how much that is US currency- but still- thats a little....... off i believe

Current - RPG: Eternal Destiny : Help Wanted!
http://www.halbrosproductions.netfirms.com
Dont ask those questions! Read the help files lazy!
Shadow Robert
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 18:34
what £350 in $? ... well i think that'd be $720
if it was dollar into pound would be less lol, translation is a fickle thing

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Benjamin
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 20:15
$557 actualy...check a curreny converter online with latest updates

xxxpetratxxx
B. R. W
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 23:37
hahaha.
if you want a pc let me know and i'll find out how much the postage is compared to your location.
please note. i need cash with the order, or you can just transfer straight to my swiss bank account
oh yeah and the waranty is a lifetime pay-it-yourself waranty.
Ben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Jan 2003 10:10
HaHaHa. i see nobody bothered to reply
i made a slight mistake with the waranty there.
its a life-time garantie
(details correct at time of posting for more information please send a cheque of £25 to ben ward...)
Arrow
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 22nd Jan 2003 19:27
A pirmid sceme won't earn you anough for broadband.

This is Truth!
This is my Belief!
...at least for now.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-07-16 03:36:51
Your offset time is: 2019-07-16 03:36:51