Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / "100012: Could Not close nest at line 5010" WTF

Author
Message
Brent_Seraphim
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 05:56
Ok I'm getting this error:
100012: Could Not close nest at line 5010

I have checked my syntax and I can't find anything wrong with it:

Line 5010: TempChar_Circlet_Cost = 200 + TempChar_Circlet_Preffix_Cost + TempChar_Circlet_Base_Cost + TempChar_Circlet_Suffix_Cost


Any idea's about how to fix this?
"Laugh to scorn the power of man..."
CasinoDuck
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 06:00
most likely you have an open loop like a "if" statment with out a then or endif

Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 06:09
You will get this error if a loop is not closed...

For i = 1 to 10
print i


...will fail, because there is no next i to close the for loop, this applies to:


For
Next

Do
Loop

Repeat
Until

While
Endwhile


Hope this helps

Programming anything is an art, and you can't rush art.
Unless your name is Bob Ross, then you can do it in thirty minutes.
Brent_Seraphim
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 07:02
Thanks for the info! I'll try to scan my code for an 'Open Minding IF"

"Laugh to scorn the power of man..."
jasuk70
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2002
Location: Hemel Hempstead
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 14:32
I've yet to find an error message that actually means the line specified, I've learnt now to look for errors before this line, my problems are usually things like doing:

END IF or END WHILE instead of:

ENDIF ENDWHILE

Also

IF Var=1 THEN
Do stuff
ENDIF

Where the THEN is only used for a 1 line IF statement.

I'm trying to get used to 2 forms of BASIC as the other form of BASIC i use is DATABASIC fom the Pick world (Wonder if anyone knows that one )

Jas
IanM
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 29th Dec 2002 15:09
Me. I used to use it on an old Honeywell Bull machine.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-01 18:31:48
Your offset time is: 2024-05-01 18:31:48