Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / What's BSP

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Sep 2002 07:01
I am a compleate newbie so can some one point me in the right direction to find out about BSP.

Thanks
Shadow Robert
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Sep 2002 07:59
Certainly, BSP is the level format created by id 14 (if my memory is correct) years ago ...
Nice simple way of constructing internal structures quickly, and haveing them then render fast. As it will only show the faces you can possibly see ... means that worlds that if you made an model of are like 15,000polygons will show only a room full - say 1,000 polygons.
As a polygon count is paramount for fast game speed, the lower you can get them the more processing power can go on more important things like physics, artificial intelligence and even cool particles

Now the format is widely used within the Quake Series and Half-Life type games, with their formats being supported by DBpro.
You can get BSP creators from most places like
http://www.valve-erc.com - Worldcraft ... the official Half-Life BSP creator, pretty simple but easy
http://www.planetquake.net/quark - QuArK ... Commerial free, a little tricky but powerful tool. Is a little bit of everything!
http://www.volved.com/qsr/download.shtml - Qoole ... a now dead BSP creator, however my personal favourite.
http://www.fileplanet.com Gtk/Jk2/Qe/Q3radient, all under one roof - technically the same BSP creators they are the official Quake3 level editors, quite complex but most power if you can ever figure out howto use them properly