Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Texturing 3D Objects - Help Needed

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jan 2003 15:09
Hello Friend,

I am an aspiring programmer from India. Recently I have been very interested in DB. I have only the trial versions of DB v1.106, v1.13 and DBPRO Trial.

I have the following problems with loading 3d objects
[1] Some times .3DS file formats do not work correctly
[2] If I use the DBconv.exe tool to convert .3DS files into .X format, it works with DB but not with DBPRO.
[3] How to texture 3D objects... .i.e., if I have textured the object in 3D studio, how to bring it to DarkBasic
[4] If I have to apply different textures to different parts of a single Model, how can it be accomplished.

Any instructions will be very helpful. Thankyou
Admiraltrent
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jan 2003 17:48
I personally do not have DBPRO but in the original DB you can use the "texture limb" command to texture a particular limb. In case you aren't familiar with what a limb is, it is a section of a 3D model. Some 3D models when converted can end up being one limb only. To look at the limbs in an object I would just load your model and use the Command Line Editor (if you have that in DBPRO) to mark them different colors so you know which limb is which.

- T.I. STUDIOS -
Check us out at [link]http://cconthenet.tripod.com[/link].
nercrotosist
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jan 2003 17:48
O.K, with regards to your texturing prob, I personaly use Max to texture everything (unwrapUVW in the modifier list) then export to .x using a plugin. Dont know what version of Max you have, but 5 is better (and a little easier!!) than 4 for texturing.