Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Character Animation in DirectX

Author
Message
Kalel06
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 22:55
are all animations on a directx animated model kept in the same file where then we just call it in DBP by name or do I have to save several files with different animations for ex.

character.x (which contains all animations)

or is it just

shoot.x
walk.x
ect.

Thanks
Kalel06
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 23:11
Am I posting something that's alrady been answered...if so where's the search button on this forum so I can search the subject???
Megaman X
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 23:36
PLAY OBJECT
These commands will play the animation data contained within the specified 3D object. You can optionally play the animation by providing a specified start and end frame. The parameters should be specified using integer values.

SYNTAX
PLAY OBJECT Object Number
PLAY OBJECT Object Number, From Frame
PLAY OBJECT Object Number, From Frame, End Frame

"You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance"
--Ryu
mimesis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posted: 4th Jan 2003 23:48
You can compile you're character and all associated animations with MilkShape.
Then in DBP you start the animations with:

PLAY OBJECT ObjNum, StartFrame, EndFrame
...or...
LOOP OBJECT ObjNum, StartFrame, EndFrame

Therefore you must keep a record of all the anim sequence
frames included in you're X file.
You can store those values in DATA statements.

If you own DBP take a look at the model "Miko.X"
which is on the cd, this is one of those file.

I would prefer to use MDL, but...

By the way... MDL/MD2/MD3 do they require licensing?
Kalel06
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jan 2003 00:14
thank Bassi....that I see how that would work perfectly. Sorry I can't help you with your question though.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-17 04:40:03
Your offset time is: 2024-05-17 04:40:03