Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / flash light?

Author
Message
The Nerd
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 31st Oct 2004 21:54
Hi


will it be able to have a flash light in FPSC so you can walk into dark rooms?



The Nerd

FREE 2d collision toturials then visit my thread here : http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=41045&b=5
my website : http://www.freewebs.com/waggames
Kentaree
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Clonmel, Ireland
Posted: 31st Oct 2004 23:39
I believe I heard that it does have a flashlight object, and if not, it shouldn't be too hard to script a spotlight to keep following you and facing the same direction as you.

AMD Athlon XP2800+
GeForce FX5200 128MB
1.25GB DDR 333MHz RAM
DeepBlue
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th May 2003
Location: A little box in the UK
Posted: 4th Nov 2004 14:41
There is a flashlight but no batteries for it, so it doesn't work

DeepBlue

The coder formerly known as Twynklet.
Red Ocktober
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Nov 2004 21:02 Edited at: 4th Nov 2004 21:03
before DOOM3 we had plenty of flashlights...

but flashlights have been regularly out of stock since DOOM3...

--Mike
Van B
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 4th Nov 2004 22:36
If Lee has set it so that you can have a light source at the weapon - like when you fire a machine gun, maybe you can put a yellow light on the gun and activate it so it illuminates the surroundings when firing - nice effect and certainly not something Lee won't have seen before. Anyhoo, if it has that feature then it should be fairly straightforward to make a torch object, and set a light onto it - you'd just make the firing time rediculously long or something to keep the light enabled.

Not that I'm suggesting you actually put a torch in a game, don't want to encourage people to copy ideas from Doom3, I'd rather wait and see HL2 give them better ideas .


Van-B


It's c**p being the only coder in the village.
mm0zct
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2003
Location: scotland-uk
Posted: 7th Nov 2004 06:52
doom3 isn't the only game with a flashlight, many other games included one that could be used at any time but usually needed power eg halo, half life, counter-strike
doom3 however is the only one of these in which the flashlight is really necessary. it's also the only one in which you can't use it at the same time as a gun.

http://www.larinar.tk
AMD athlon thoroughbred 2400+, 512Mb ram, 160Gb HD, ati saphire radeon 9600 atlantis w/128mb ddr ram, creative-labs desktop theatre, cd-rw + dvd drives.
Van B
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 8th Nov 2004 16:34
Yeah, personally I prefered Halo's flashlight, it just seemed more realistic, and less of just a visual effect.


Van-B


It's c**p being the only coder in the village.
David R
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2003
Location: 3.14
Posted: 8th Nov 2004 21:11
What about Half-Life? That had a flashlight. Not a terribly good one, but it had one! Half Life 2 looks pretty cool alswell. [16th November!]

<html>
<img src="http://www.freewebs.com/lightningstudios/lightningstudios_logo.jpg" border=0 />
</html>
Rob K
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 9th Nov 2004 00:12 Edited at: 9th Nov 2004 00:12
Only 8 days to go, I can almost smell the headcrabs.


BlueGUI:Windows UI Plugin - All the power of the windows interface in your DBPro games.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-03-23 14:53:14
Your offset time is: 2019-03-23 14:53:14