Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Data Types WARNING! WARNING! WARNING!

Author
Message
the architect
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 04:48
I have recently been developing the code for a fps. I had but several elements together, such as a bsp, some entites etc and tested the performance. It was great and I concluded
that with some carefully programmed routines and functions I could develope the game I wanted.
My plan was to use the data types to add to my world such things as guns,levels,player stats etc. This way I could develope any type of fps shooter I wanted. I merely had to cut and paste routines to wear the data types are declared and develope the media.
To my irritation I have found that data types slow the program down drastically!!! Without anything near the polygons my trial run had, My FPS has dropped. How can data types do this so drastically. Data types are a crucial part of level programming and if DBPro cant handle them proffesional programming has just turned highly unlikely.
ICERGB
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 07:59
example?
Data types?
The admiral
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 09:57
patch 4,5 and 6 will fix this.

ICERGB
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 10:05
Patch 4 and 5 ??
Fix What?
firestarter
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2002
Location: Norway
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 13:41
<Sarcasm>I think u gotta wait for patch 7</Sarcasm>
the architect
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 14:44
To iceberg

If u have ever studied c++ you would know of variables refered to as classes. These allow you to mix file types such as strings, integers, floats etc into the one array.
e.g
type men
name as string
age as integer
weight as integer
walking as boolean
endtype

you can then declare

dim persons(20) as men
persons(1).name="iceberg"

etc

Excellant for games and application developements, simplifying arrays into names as opposed to rows and columns.

the architect
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Jan 2003 14:46
flyer_command_dude
I hope u r right about the patch fixes. I've developed an
excellant shell program for making FPS but it will fall flat
on its face if the issue cannot be resolved!!!

I don't wanna go back to Traditional "DIM's"

the architect
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th Jan 2003 03:30
Panic over. It was not the data types causing the drag it was the f**ping set text command that I had used to keep track of ammo in my game. Dammit it caused me to lose 30 frames (not a lot but ideal for the routines) and all it said was

"Garand 2000 49/250"

rapscaLLion
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Jan 2003 03:33
I noticed that you can't use types on multi-dimensional arrays, only one dimensional ones work. Is it just me, or is it a bug, or is that the way it's supposed to be?

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Kousen Dev Progress >> Currently Working On Editors

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-18 15:11:18
Your offset time is: 2024-05-18 15:11:18