Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Dark SDK questions

Author
Message
roujesky
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 07:15
Well, I said I would buy it, and I just did! I am waiting for my order to be processed so I can download it. A little less than $50 for the freeware version. Not a bad price so that I can use C++, which I am good at, as opposed to DB which I am not

Just a couple of questions:

1. Are we Dark SDK users going to get our own forum?
2. Does my copy of EZRotate and Enhancement pack work with Dark SDK?
3. Can I create a windowed app which is not full screen? Using MFC menus and dialogs?
4. How much will it cost to upgrade from Freeware version to Shareware version?

thanx
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 14:27
I´ll give you what I believe....

1. Maybe, they are usually pretty good about things like that.
2. Not yet, but they are working on the Enhancement Pack. EZRotate is from a different company. The Company would have to modify it to work for the SDK, not TGC.
3. No clue, but I don´t see why not.
4. Goto the order page. It tells you how much the upgrade is.

Hope this helps a little.

-This...is my boomstick!
Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 17:03
Quote: "1. Are we Dark SDK users going to get our own forum?"


Yes, today.

Quote: "2. Does my copy of EZRotate and Enhancement pack work with Dark SDK?"


Afraid not. I will make this more clear on the site actually, it does say but you have to read the vs. DBPro page to find it.

Quote: "3. Can I create a windowed app which is not full screen? Using MFC menus and dialogs?"


Well, there is a way - but it's not in the documentation, so the official line is 'no' for now - but we will cover this shortly.

Quote: "4. How much will it cost to upgrade from Freeware version to Shareware version?"


See the web site order page. You don't need to do this until you actually have a shareware ready product (which, no-one will yet!)

Cheers,

Rich

"I am not young enough to know everything."
- Oscar Wilde
Dark Angel_1246
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 17:19
do you need Microsoft Visual C++ 6 or Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2003 to use dark game sdk if so were can i find them.

Jesse Farr
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 17:24 Edited at: 1st Dec 2004 17:25
Quote: "do you need Microsoft Visual C++ 6 or Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2003 to use dark game sdk if so were can i find them"

Yes - you need to buy them. The standard version of .Net 2003 is around £60 which would be around 139 ASD
Or you can wait until the DevC one is done.

Walk softly... and carry a big gun...
Erick G
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 17:24
this has been discussed too

VC++ 6.0 ( SP5 ) and .net 2003 is supported.

You can buy them, student licenses are also available
Jeku
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 17:24
W00t! 10,000th post in the DBP forum

You need to go to http://www.microsoft.com/ to look up the details on ordering any Visual Studio package. So far you need them, but soon you can use the free Dev-C++


--[GameBasic - Coming Soon]-- ^^^ banner generously designed by TheBigBabou
Snaz
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Apr 2004
Location: Romania, Galatz
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 19:04
I've got another question: Does DarkSDK increases the CPU usage to 100% like DBPro?
MiR
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 22:59
Sorry to nick your thread roujesky but I thought that it would be better than creating my own thread.
As I´ve bought DBPro from Amazon does that mean I´m not elegable to the 10% discount? If that´s the case can we have some kind of discount? 9%, 8% maybe?
Please...pretty please with sugar on top?


A bargain at 900000€ second hand
Libera tu mente y te liberaras.
Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 23:35
MiR - start a new thread, this doesn't belong here.

"I am not young enough to know everything."
- Oscar Wilde
Jedive
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 04:55 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2004 04:55
Quote: "do you need Microsoft Visual C++ 6 or Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2003 to use dark game sdk if so were can i find them."
Well, if it does support 6.0 and 2003, it'll probably work with Visual C++ .NET 2005 Express Beta, which is FREE.

It will be disabled in March 2005 or so, where the final verison is supposed to be released. But if TGC confirms that it works, you would use the free VC++2005 until the Dev-C++ version of the SDK is released, hopefully before March.

Or you would always purchase the release version of VC++ 2005 when it comes out. The Standard version of 2003 costs only $90.99 on Amazon.com. I hope 2005 will have a similar price.

http://lab.msdn.microsoft.com/express/visualc/default.aspx

== Jedive ==
AthlonXP 1600+, 512MB, GeForce4200, WinXP/DX9, Mandrake 10
iBook G4 1Ghz, 256MB, Radeon9200, Mac OS X Panther
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 05:00 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2004 05:01
If I have time tomorrow, I'll see if 2005 beta is compatible with DarkSDK - unless someone else has got both already.

Walk softly... and carry a big gun...
Dark Angel_1246
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 06:19
when will the DevC version be completed and how much is DevC, and were can i get DevC

Jesse Farr
Dark Angel_1246
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 06:26
is this Microsoft® Visual Basic® .NET 2003 Standard Edition the same Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2003

Jesse Farr
IanM
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 06:55
Err ... no. One is Visual Basic and the other is C++

Dev-C++ is free : http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=10639&package_id=12148

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Antdizzle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 07:00
When I went to that site I found out that there is a new version of Dev C++.
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 12:19
It appears that .Net 2005 is not directly compatiable, mainly because it seems that a lot of Windows files and types are missing.
Windows.h is to start with, and various data types like LONGLONG are also not present.

It may work if they are put in a header file, but then again...

Walk softly... and carry a big gun...
Jedive
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 19:02
Hi The Coding Area.

Not some Windows files are missing, ALL OF THEM are missing

That's to reduce overall download size, as long as they have the Microsoft Platform SDK available for download also. This SDK provides all the libraries of the Windows API.

You must donwload it separately here: http://www.microsoft.com/msdownload/platformsdk/sdkupdate/downlevel.htm
It a bit more than 200 mb.

VC++2005 works perfectly once you have installed the SDK. The IDE already has the include and lib paths defined, so if you install the PlatformSDK on the directory <VisualStudio8Folder>\VC\PlatformSDK, they'll be recognised automatically by VC++ 2005 .

Hope this helps.

== Jedive ==
AthlonXP 1600+, 512MB, GeForce4200, WinXP/DX9, Mandrake 10
iBook G4 1Ghz, 256MB, Radeon9200, Mac OS X Panther
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Dec 2004 19:14
Fair enough - As I dont use 2005, I didn't bother looking for any further files...

Walk softly... and carry a big gun...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-12 22:08:29
Your offset time is: 2019-11-12 22:08:29