Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / SDK Update

Author
Message
stevie disco
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2005 21:09
Aah - that's more like it.. Just noticed this in the newsletter.
Quote: "
sObject* pBox = dbMakeObjectBox ( 10, 10, 10 );
dbPositionObject ( pBox, 0, 0, 0 );
pBox->vecPosition = vector3 ( 0, 0, 0 );
"

Think I'm going to hold off coding until the next update. OO goodness.

Will be doing my models in anticipation. Got questions on those and i'll post them in the appropriate place. Toodles.

check out www.bookandstay.com for some non-game related work of mine.
PearsoE
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 01:12
Any status on an SDK update? It would be nice to be able to hide a specific sprite. Hiding all of them kind of limits what you can do.
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 01:27
My guess is still June 2005

-This...is my boomstick!
PearsoE
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 03:03
Wow June?! Be nice if there was a patch release quicker that addressed some of the more serious bugs. I could wait for June for new features but right now you can pretty much take the Sprite features of the Dark SDK and throw them out the window for all the good they are.
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 03:08
I am quite sure that until the FPS Creator comes out they won't be touching anything else.

-This...is my boomstick!
dbcoder2006
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 06:00
Wow,

Textures don't work
Sound half works
BSP's don't work

And that's all I have found.... complete BS. I would think they would releae a finished product. I'm so mad.
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 06:26
Don't be. These things take time. As soon as FPS Creator comes out, I'm sure we will see improvements.

What I think is a little sad is that everyone who already has a product with issues has to wait until the new product, which no one has, to be done first. Of course, when the new product comes out, there will be issues, so it begins again.

-This...is my boomstick!
billy the kid
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 06:28
Are you sure about June? Seems a little dumb to not continue supporting previous products. By support I mean bug fixing and upgrades. Now obviously most of the team would be working on FPSC. But Im willing to bet at least 1 guy is working on the SDK. Isnt Mike currently working on it? At least I hope this is the case. There better be at least one person currently working on implementing pointers. And if you are right then...WTF!?!?!?!?!
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 07:07 Edited at: 11th Jan 2005 07:18
Please remember it´s my opinion. I don´t work for TGC nor do I have any ¨inside¨ information, just from my reading of the IRC Transscript and their Dev Journals, I personally don´t believe anything will be done before June.

All Mike entries as of late has been about FPSC that I can see (I could be wrong). So I do not know what to tell you.
http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?m=diary&did=2

According to the Dev Diary, the last time Mike has touched something Non-FPSC was during Thanksgiving.
http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?m=diary&eid=1568

I also see the FPSC coming out middle of February. As they have stated, the EA release is first, then the final later. We shall see.

-This...is my boomstick!
dbcoder2006
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 07:56
I payed for a working product, now granted I expected small bugs, but bsp's not working? I can't texture 3ds models? I can't do CRAP w/o that.
zao420
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 08:01
the sdk will have the same bugs as dbp they are the same engine after all. you should have expected bsp to not be working but that 3ds models not beable to texture you should post the model and texture in that other forum

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 08:51
BSP not working is not an issue for since BSP was created numerous years ago, I have refused to have anything to do with it.

But 3DS not being able to texture, that´s a new one at least on me. Post the model and texture and let me take a quick look.

-This...is my boomstick!
sempre
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 09:58
so far i have been able to develop 2 demos in less than a month without having any show stopper, but i do have a hard time figuring out when something goes wrong, if it is my code, or the SDK being buggy.

you can download two work in progress and see for yourselfs:

(1. alpha objects not rendering well over other objects with alpha)
(2. screen goes blank on GeForce FX cards)

http://www.gslpr.com/files/MeteorRush.rar

(1. Having a hard time with collisions against irregular floor, my my floor angle post)

http://www.gslpr.com/Files/Racer.rar
Gen
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2004
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 12:37
Quote: "But 3DS not being able to texture, that´s a new one at least on me."


In DBP my 3ds models does not texture either. I remember reading earlier that there was other people having some trouble with it. But I was not absolutly sure if it was the modeler I used or DBP.

Soon to come...
Dark IDE, New IDE for DarkBASIC Pro!
Two plug-ins, A Time/Date and New File commands.
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 15:31
dbCoder - textures work, sounds work and BSPs work. We have released a complete product. Check out the included demos to see examples of texturing, sound and BSP in action. Send me the code and models you are using and I can investigate the problems - mike@thegamecreators.com.

Mike
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 18:47
Hows the DarkSDK update going ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 11th Jan 2005 22:14
I have had no real show stoppers either. 95% happy with the product. I recommend it to people when I can.

The issues will be fixed, I'm am quite sure.

As for the BSP thing, according to the IRC Transscripts, a lot of issues are "user implementation" issues. As the demos that come with the DGSDK shows, it loads a Quake 3 world and works just fine. Now, maybe there is something special you need to do to make it work, I do not know.

I also tried the 3DS model and I applied different textures to the model just fine. Have you tried the STL modifier to make sure you model is correct? Having incorrect faces or edges will sometimes make the textures not work.

Otherwise, I'm pertty happy. The only thing I had an issue with is the multiple camera which Mike has said he has already addressed and fixed (which kicks me up to 98% happy). The only two issues left will be corrected documentation (help file) as well as dbStatistic to work so I can see my polycount on the screen.

That's it!

-This...is my boomstick!
the_winch
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 01:25
If it uses the same method to load 3ds files as dbpro just use .x files instead. 3ds files cause all sorts of problems in dbpro. I think at one point there wasn't a single 3d format that dbpro supported that it didn't have problems with.

Quote: "this is not a quote"
Jimmy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 04:45
Quote: "We have released a complete product."


Yes, all the commands are there, but they don't all work.

Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 04:57
What commands don't work? When someone makes such a broad statement as BSPs don't work and yet the demo I made works it is hard for me to see the problem. Without any kind of specifics it's difficult for me to solve the problem.

Mike
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:11
Did Mouse send the list to you, by the way ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Cellbloc Studios
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:25
It's funny how people complain that it stuff doesn't work.

I'm still waiting for Microsoft to fix the "Yes to All" bug, and it's only been 10 years....

-This...is my boomstick!
Jimmy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:39
Meh, I was referring to some of the sprite commands that were discussed in these threads:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=44510&b=22
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=43980&b=22

OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:41
They aren't bugs in DBPro - just exclusive to DarkSDK

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Jimmy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:43
That's what we're talking about genius.

OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:46
Other people appear to be talking about DBPro though...

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Jimmy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:47
Right, I meant Mike and I

dbcoder2006
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 09:23
BSP's that aren't either quake maps or included in the pak or pk3, or what ever that extension is... work, but hl maps w/ wad textures do not. I have sent Mike the map and the project a week or two ago.
Smithy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 15:12
Ohhh ... June... When reading the newsletters I got the impression that there will come an update at the begin of this year.

Well, as I've decided to stop coding until the OO - release is out, I will have a hard time until June

See you all then,
Smithy

//////////////
//no time for coding right now,...
//It is "NWCON III: ^CON OF THE DEAD;
//An Online Convention for Neverwinter Nights(tm) Players
// ( for (PnP-style) CRPG-Roleplayers )
//For more info see www.neverwinterconnections.com
//DM Spry/Smithy
//////////////

//Pentium IV 3200E/Prescott; 800Mhz FSB; Hyperthreading; WinXP Pro (!XP2); ATI R9700PRO; 1024MB RAM (2x 512MB "DualChanneled"; VC++; Delphi; ADSL;
Erick G
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 16:25
Quote: "Well, as I've decided to stop coding until the OO - release is out, I will have a hard time until June "


What the HELL are you talking about ? The Dark SDK uses C++, C++ is OO, you seem very confused.
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 17:03 Edited at: 27th Jan 2005 17:04
I think he was talking about things like : sObject* pBox = dbMakeObjectBox ( 10, 10, 10 );

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
Smithy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 18:29 Edited at: 27th Jan 2005 18:38
Yeah, I am not confused.. well, maybe a little bit but not because of coding related stuff

It helps me immensely when I can include dgSDK objects direct into my engine classes.
(without to need to use the dgSDK ID's)

I am coding with OO techniques, but I find it annoying to include the dgSDK "ObjectID" as membervariable to my classes.
I would really like to embed them directly into my classes. (or pointer respectively)
(and I think its faster to use a direct pointer and not an ID which the dgSDK function has to look up first.)

Regards,
Smithy

+++++++++++++++++++++++++
PS:
Want to use it this way:

as Memberobjects:
i.e. sObject* pObj;

Using dgSDK Functions as member functions:
i.e. pObject->RotateObjectZ ( ... );

//Pentium IV 3200E/Prescott; 800Mhz FSB; Hyperthreading; WinXP Pro (!XP2); ATI R9700PRO; 1024MB RAM (2x 512MB "DualChanneled"; VC++; Delphi; ADSL;
Erick G
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 19:49
Ah ok, that makes a bit more sense, the id's can get annoying yes, pointer access will be much more intuitive.
IanM
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 21:18
So create your own class wrappers ...

I'll post a simple example tonight if you like to show how I would do this with a before/after for when pointers are introduced.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Smithy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 21:26
Go ahead IandM.

//Pentium IV 3200E/Prescott; 800Mhz FSB; Hyperthreading; WinXP Pro (!XP2); ATI R9700PRO; 1024MB RAM (2x 512MB "DualChanneled"; VC++; Delphi; ADSL;
Troll Fiddler
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Mayo, Ireland
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 21:38
I'm confused even if nobody else is. Why do people both here and in the DBP forums keep using pointers as examples of OO? Pointers are about as non-OO as you can possibly get. They are even worse than primitives (ints, longs etc). Not only are you not using objects but you're messing with memory directly. Arrgh!
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 22:38 Edited at: 27th Jan 2005 22:50
Quote: "Why do people both here and in the DBP forums keep using pointers as examples of OO?"

I'm assuming people thinks sObject is a class...

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
billy the kid
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 22:56 Edited at: 27th Jan 2005 22:58
Pointers are the preferred method by most to call the functions and variables of a class. And its the preferred method because using pointers increases speed. So thats why you see probably see pointers used in OO examples. I personally use pointers as much as possible if it makes sense to do so. And yes you dont have to use pointers. But trust me you will get a big performance boost if you use pointers in a very large project. For small stuff, it doesnt really matter.
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 22:59
The question though, is sObject a class or a structure ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
billy the kid
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2005 23:03
*shrugs*
IanM
Retired Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 28th Jan 2005 04:06
It's a hybrid.

It's defined as:

struct sObject : public sObjectData, sObjectProperties, sObjectAnimationProperties, sObjectInstance, sObjectDelete

It has a constructor and a destructor, but no methods, and all data is publically accessible.



Anyway, here is that small example project I offered earlier (you;ll find it in the attachment). Read the 'Design.txt' first so that you can see why I did things in a certain way. Hopefully it'll make sense to you ...

You'll either need to have the boost library installed (http://www.boost.org/ - don't bother to build the library. Just set up the main folder as an include folder), or to edit the code to change the shared_ptr template to your favourite safe-pointer.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk

Attachments

Login to view attachments
DallasG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Jozi SA
Posted: 2nd Feb 2005 23:44 Edited at: 2nd Feb 2005 23:44
I created a object manager for our framework, seems to work pretty well.
as for the pointer issues, less hastles without them..
adapt or die they say... so we adapted

*AMD64 3200+* *Lanparty UT nf3 250gb* *Leadtek nVidia 6800GT* *768Mb DDR400* *Coolermaster CM Stacker*
DallasG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Jozi SA
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 17:06
any news when the update will be released?

*AMD64 3200+* *Lanparty UT nf3 250gb* *Leadtek nVidia 6800GT* *768Mb DDR400* *Coolermaster CM Stacker*
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 19:17
No

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
DallasG
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Jozi SA
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 19:38
thats helpful

*AMD64 3200+* *Lanparty UT nf3 250gb* *Leadtek nVidia 6800GT* *768Mb DDR400* *Coolermaster CM Stacker*
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 20:34
Thats all the information thats availiable.

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
Hobbs
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 00:35
Quote: "What the HELL are you talking about ? The Dark SDK uses C++, C++ is OO, you seem very confused. "

The Dark SDK uses 'C' not 'C++'. The Dark SDK is not object oriented, it just compiles in a C++ compiler. Someone is confused.
Erick G
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 02:08
Well done, here is your sign.

Quote: "Someone is confused. "


Why are you confused ?

Please re-read the thread.
OSX Using Happy Dude
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 03:56 Edited at: 23rd Feb 2005 03:57
Now now kiddies...
The more important question is : Where on earth is the SDK update ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
billy the kid
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2005 04:21
YEAH!!!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-23 23:36:14
Your offset time is: 2019-08-23 23:36:14