Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / "Commandos" or something similar

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jan 2003 13:16
Hello!

My name's Rober... (without t), I'm spanish and I'm a novice using DB (not DB Pro).

I'm not so good in English too.

I'm planning to create a great turn based RPG but it's so hard for me at the moment.

What about "Commandos", "Desperados" and that kind of games??

I don't have a light idea about how to create them. If anyone is so kind to give me some pieces of advice or help me I'll be so pleased with it. I will help anyone in everything I can.

For everything you want:

soyelmilonga@hotmail.com

Thank you in advance and
Bye for the moment.
Milongas al poder y rubias a sus lados!!
John H
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jan 2003 19:58
OK, since your just starting out, I wouldnt try to make a

"great turn based RPG "

because youll simple drive yourself mad in trying Try something more simple, like pong Start small, learn the commands, then go big

BTW- Commandos? Dunno!

RPGamer

Current - RPG: Eternal Destiny : Help Wanted!
http://www.halbrosproductions.netfirms.com
Dont ask those questions! Read the help files lazy!
The Darthster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Jan 2003 00:33
It's quite often easier to look at an existing game, pull it apart in your mind and try to see how it works, then copy that and code it (or a simpler version) yourself. Commandos I believe is a tile based game, but don't quote me on that. Try using the sprite commands to set out some tiles, or position a character or something. You can always start with small tasks and build it up into something big.