Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Suggestions on software for creating video tutorials

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Feb 2005 02:00
A few people have suggested that they would create video tutorials of different aspects of FPSC and post them for all of us. That would be a fantastic help, so I'd like to offer some suggestions in making it happen.

Creating video tutorials is something I do for a living (along with my lawyering and game creation duties!), so I thought I would make some suggestions on software that does screen video and voice capture.

The two tools I suggest are Techsmith Camtasia and Macromedia Captivate (which you may know as RoboDemo).

Both tools allow outputting to Flash format, which you'll probably want, since any other video format will be too large. Both also allow you to capture voice while you record.

Captivate will automatically annotate your video (placing large tooltips over buttons, menus, etc.), but it's a little pricey at US$499. Camtasia won't automatically annotate, but you can go back and edit your video easily. (Actually, I hardly ever annotate, anyway.) Camtasia is a little cheaper at US$299.

Another possibility is Lead Capture and Present, which goes for US$49, but it doesn't export to Flash format.