Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / BumpMapping and Shaders

Author
Message
danant
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2005 14:38 Edited at: 22nd Mar 2005 14:42
he everyone.
I would want to know if to someone of you it has problems to use the
bumpmapping and .fx shader with DarkGame SDK.
I have tried more times to compile examples converted from DarkBasic
Professional in Visual C++.net 2003 but I do not succeed to see nothing, also using the shaders I do not obtain no result.
Some examples I have taken them from the forum and you are converted, but nothing, while all it works well in DarkBasic Professional.
Someone could say me why?

Example from [DarkBASIC Professional DiscussionThe Ultimate Shader Thread 2.0]

DBPRO:


DGSDK:




My specs:
CPU: OPTERON 242x2
MEMORY: DDR400 512MBx2
VIDEO CARD: GeForce 6800GT 256MB DDR3
OS: Windows XP x32-Bit and Windows XP x64-Bit


http://www.geocities.jp/acqua_studios/
billy the kid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2005 00:08
I believe it has been decided the fx loader is bugged. I think it is somewhere in the DarkSDK bug thread. And if it isnt, it should be!
danant
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2005 10:08
Also I task therefore, I only hope that team TGC lets out soon update otherwise all the things that render particular DarkGame SDK respect to other 3D engine, without they will be meant, if they cannot be used. It is useless to have a powerful product in appearance and then not to be able to use it if every time that is wanted to be used an particular effect blocks the program or nothing is not looked at on the screen.


My specs:
CPU: OPTERON 242x2
MEMORY: DDR400 512MBx2
VIDEO CARD: GeForce 6800GT 256MB DDR3
OS: Windows XP x32-Bit and Windows XP x64-Bit


http://www.geocities.jp/acqua_studios/
danant
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2005 05:37
Also I task therefore, I only hope that team TGC lets out soon update otherwise all the things that render particular DarkGame SDK respect to other 3D engine, without they will be meant, if they cannot be used.
danant
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2005 05:39
he everyone.
I would want to know if to someone of you it has problems to use the
bumpmapping and .fx shader with DarkGame SDK.
I have tried more times to compile examples converted from DarkBasic
Professional in Visual C++.net 2003 but I do not succeed to see nothing, also using the shaders I do not obtain no result.
Some examples I have taken them from the forum and you are converted, but nothing, while all it works well in DarkBasic Professional.
Someone could say me why?

Example from [DarkBASIC Professional DiscussionThe Ultimate Shader Thread 2.0]

DBPRO:


DGSDK:

danant
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2005 05:39
Also I task therefore, I only hope that team TGC lets out soon update otherwise all the things that render particular DarkGame SDK respect to other 3D engine, without they will be meant, if they cannot be used.
Morcilla
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 28th Mar 2005 23:20
I agree, shaders bug should be nº 1 in fixing list in my opinion.

I just bought DGSDK and discovered this problem, my project uses several shaders and they are not going to work!
MiR
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 28th Mar 2005 23:38
danat:It would be better if you post your code and state the problem in an email to TGC (mike@thegamecreators.com) so they can sort it out in bug week.


¿Como estas you el dia de today?
billy the kid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Mar 2005 04:13
Quote: "Also I task therefore"


What form of english is this?
MiR
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 29th Mar 2005 04:28
Altavista translation?


¿Como estas you el dia de today?
billy the kid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Mar 2005 08:14 Edited at: 29th Mar 2005 08:15
Another option is to just write your own shader loader. I think thats the nicest thing about DGSDK, you can rewrite something if it is bugged or doesnt work exactly the way you want. Where as with DBPro, you are screwed until it gets fixed unless you make a plugin. However I would much rather not have to rewrite something thats supposed to work.
drnelson
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Feb 2005
Location:
Posted: 29th Mar 2005 15:54
I posted the bug to the bug post last month. I am currently going to start trying to access the device, dx9's shaderfx framework, and use that to run my .fx files.. it's going to take some serious hacks.. but for now it's worth a shot.

David

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-30 18:09:40
Your offset time is: 2020-09-30 18:09:40