Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Texture problem

Author
Message
Sixpack
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2005 10:46
I'm looking into making my own gun (a sniper rifle), and I already have the .X file that I made in 3D Canvas Pro, and I plan to make the others for the HUD and VWEAP, but what program does anyone use to open, edit, and/or create .dds files? I have tried everything and nothing seems to work. Could someone please help?

Can't wait for V1!!!!!!!
T700mhz
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2005 15:43
Hi sixpack,
Maybe I can help you with that problem.
1. You can not make a .dds file because inside FPSC texturebank folder it makes it for you.
2. when you creat your x file opening up your x file in notepad and look for the word (texture filename) and next to this word should be your texture file name. Make sure that your file say for example: tom.tga. If it say tom.jpeg or anything else beside .tga. you need to change it to tga file . Also make sure you texture file is a 256 X 256 .tga file .Once you have all this done right you need to make a folder in texturebank file area and put your texture in there and make sure you have your x file in entitybank folder. If you have any other problem from there with the texture email me. good luck
ctm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2005 18:03
I am using the DDS Converter 2.1 to convert textures.

Here is a download link:
http://eliteforce2.filefront.com/file/DDS_Converter;29412
Noldor
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2005 20:07
On this page you can download a Plugin for photoshop
so that you can export your images directly to DDS
from Photoshop.
http://developer.nvidia.com/object/nv_texture_tools.html
But you actually don'y need DDS files for
textures, you can simply use TGA files.
hai_ok
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2004
Location: earth
Posted: 14th May 2005 06:45
FPSC-Browser can't see any of my files.
It only sees the ones included with FPSC.

It doesn't see any dds or tga files that I create.

wtf?

You are the cattle,
I am the catalyst.
Noldor
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2005 20:43 Edited at: 14th May 2005 20:44
You cant load a DDS or TGA file from within FPSC.
You define wich one of those files will be used for
skins in the script files.
(atleast i think so )
dononeton
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2004
Location: Tusaloosa, AL : USA
Posted: 15th May 2005 00:55
Use a bitmap. Make sure your fpe file and the bitmap are named the same thing

don

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-18 01:51:51
Your offset time is: 2019-08-18 01:51:51