Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Floors draw randomly

Author
Message
tschwarz
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posted: 25th Mar 2005 02:56
Is there a way to make a floor consistant

Floors draw randomly

If you don't know what I mean, you can
see what I mean by following the below
example.


select file
select new
select segments
select [add new segment]
select Military Base Low
create a room let's say 4 tiles x 4 tiles
select test level
count the number of raised floor tiles (ones that look raised and turned slightly)
press escape
select test level again
now count the raised floor tiles

Not ony is the count different but the
locations are different also.

It appears each time you test or build
the floor and walls are randomly textured


Is there a way to make the floor consistant
It would be nice to have the floor just plain
and then select dirt, blood, raised tile from
the entities.

That way if you place a file cabinet or desk
on the floor, it won't be sitting on a tile
that is raised.

Thank you
jcleaver
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2005 11:14
I do know what you mean. I have a floor that has grating in it, so i decided to add some steam coming from them. Well, everytime i test the level, the grates are in a different place.
Simon
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2005 23:18
Yes, I'm afraid I'm to blame for this.
I pushed for the random segment placement to be incorporated into FPSC, what it needs is the ability to be able to over-ride the random tile placement for specific segments.

I will do my best to get it fixed for V1

Note that once the game is built as an Exe the segments stay in the right place.
jcleaver
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2005 04:24
Thanks for the reply, Simon.
fasdfsdaf
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2005 07:40
Is there any way to predict where the segment will be when you compile it into an .exe? or do we just have to wait for v1?

www.war3forums.net

A.K.A Death Stalker
tschwarz
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posted: 26th Mar 2005 09:05
Simon:
Thanks for the response and I hope you push for a <random off>
feature in V1 for the walls and the floor. Overall incredible
program and of course great graphics.. Thanks

jcleaver / Nitrixik Studios
I have found a work around to make the floors consistent. Then you
could maybe find an entities object like a vent to place on the
floor (looks like some creative people here that might create one
for you). Using a vent (entity) would make more since than a
random floor, though you still have a chance of a floor grate
appearing under your vent. Without a consistent floor you might
have to build a few times until the floor was the way you want it.


*****
Look at the .FPS file to find what textures are being used for the floor.
Backup the original textures.
The segment I used had three different textures.
But there are 4 textures for each one, not sure what each are for
so I changed them all.
Make all three textures the same.
It still does the random but the textures are all the same.
And now I have a consistent floor.

If you are interested and want a more detailed walk thru for the
above let me know.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-23 11:48:25
Your offset time is: 2019-08-23 11:48:25