Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Texture size limitation

Author
Message
Jaidex
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Feb 2003 05:55
I read that textures are limited in size (to 256*256, I think). Is there a way around this for doing things like texturing the ground?

Thanks!
Shadow Robert
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 2nd Feb 2003 06:25
power of 2 upto 512

e.g.

16^16
32^32
64^64
128^128
256^256
512^512

this is because 512^512 is the most commonly supported by graphics cards, and really you shouldn't need anything over that, however allowing multiple textures to be assigned to Matrix rather than a single 512^512 would actually be nice

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 2nd Feb 2003 06:39
some cards are not up to 512 but only at 256 maximum.
ITs a bit annoying but it can be worked around

Jaidex
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Feb 2003 08:23
Well, let me explain what I'm trying to do, maybe I'm just not taking the right approach.

I've built a "combat arena" type thing where a vehicle drives around and takes out robothings. This arena has walls around it. I could make the walls by simply putting up plains and texturing them, except that would make for REALLY, REALLY BIG pixels if I can only place one 256^2 texture on the entire wall!

is there an easier way to do what I'm trying to do? Is there a way to TILE that texture across the plain?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks in advance! (either way)

Misanthrope
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Feb 2003 08:39
Yeah, you can scale the object texture as well as scrolling it. The smaller you scale it along either the U or V axis, the more it tiles in that particular direction. Look up the texture scaling commands in the Basic3D help section, there's an example in there.

-Misanthrope
Jaidex
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Feb 2003 10:41
Excellent! I tried it out and that was JUST what I needed!

Now is there any chance you could give me some pointers in dealing with object to object collisions? <hopeful grin>

Thanks either way!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-17 23:48:45
Your offset time is: 2025-05-17 23:48:45