Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Yucky ?bugs? in demo

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am pretty new to serious programming, so please bear with me. Using the Dark Basic Pro demo, I've successfully
created basic text and have also messed around with variables. In addition, I've succeeded in loading an .X file 3D object and even adjusted some of it's size parameters.

But I am getting some serious problems, it seems, with just about everything else. I get an error when I try to load a .BMP image, and an .mp3 music file. The RUN program gives me the error "Runtime error 506 - Could not load image at Line 1" or the equivalent with the music.
I'm not advanced enough to know if it makes a difference, but I have loaded the image as a media in the project manager.

In addition, when I tried to execute the sample 3D head file, the RUN program crashes (with an "encountered error, need to close" error message)
These problems are reproducible, and I have taken into account a suggestion in the forum for adjusting the color scheme of my monitor (to either 16 bit or 32 bit)

I am using Windows XP Home Ed. on a P4, 1.8 Ghz machine.

If I can get DBPro to work on my computer I definitely will consider purchasing it. I will be grateful if any of you users can help me with my problem. Or at least troubleshooting suggestions.
CoCoTower
Years of Service
User Offline
buggy demos...