Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Pipeline for animated meshes?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have quite a bit of game experience (my recent experience being one of the most ambitious game mods ever, about to be released). I've checked out a rather large pile of game engines, lately, because I want to develop a small game with a friend or two of mine after I'm done with this recent mod. I'm primarily an artist, and a very important thing to me is how I get my materials from my 3d app into a game engine. I don't use junk like milkshape. Being a professional artist poisons me on free (or very cheap), underdeveloped tools. Are there any RELIABLE methods of getting a .x actor from xsi, maya, max, etc. into DGSDK without using a load of external converters or other nonsense? If it's not going to be a giant pain in the arse to get stuff into the engine, I'll probably buy it in the next couple days and start playing with it. Otherwise, it'll get ignored like the rest of the indie engines and we'll start building our own, or I'll start consolidating wrappers and crap for Ogre (since it's xsi exporter is pretty darn good). Ogre just has a lot of overhead because it's a graphics engine and not a game engine, so I'd like to avoid that if the possiblity presents itself. Thanks for your time, guys.
zao420
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2005 04:36
hey vapulus

not sure about xsi or maya but for max you can use panda's X exporter. i used it with max 4.x and it worked pretty good i see now they have one for 6 and 7 but haven't had the chance to try it out since i don't have max 6 or 7.

http://www.andytather.co.uk/Panda/directxmax.aspx

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com