Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Modeling and Map-making tools for DB

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2003 20:19
Hi,

I'm new to DB so bear with me... I'm NOT using DBPro.

I've been trying out different modelers: 3D Canvas (free version that can't save anything that DB can read), and Anim8or (export to .3ds and use conv3ds to make a .X file readable by DB). Are there any others that people use - preferably freeware?

One thing I don't understand with the modeling so far is LIMBs... I just can't fathom how you know which part of the model is which numbered limb. Do you have to put special info. into the .X file that marks certain groups of polygons to be a certain limb number? Help!

As far as level/map making goes, I tried the demo of Cartography Shop and it seems very nice (although there are some strange flickering/disappearing/reappearing of textures on my Radeon 8500). Certainly, CS gives you quick and easy map building (especially if Copy/Paste works in the registered version). There is a lot of hand-waving though in the descriptions and feature lists on the DB web site about "made to integrate with DB" and "makes it simple to build levels for DB". I downloaded the "dbfps" demo, which is pretty nice. The DB code is very strange in that it loads the .X file, but also loads some other files for collision information, lightmaps, etc. Does CS+ExportX make these files or do you have to use yet another tool to make them? Where is the documentation that describes how to use the output file(s) of CS in an actual game - the demo's online help is very brief.