Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / Changing ambient lighting in-game

Author
Message
SarusX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2005
Location: Behind u- thats where a rangers gonna be
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 17:50
Can this be done? I doubt it can, but...



Because no n00b is a good n00b.
Siege1975
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posted: 12th Feb 2006 02:34
As far as I know this is manually done only. Via the <> keys.


Use http://www.whits-end.co.uk For Both Sites
Tom0001
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2006 03:17
Yes it can be done by plrinzone-i saw it in a video once

Support your local Riker 9 Chapter.
Siege1975
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posted: 12th Feb 2006 03:20
According to the manual the commands are



Using them in game would be up to you though since I'm a newbie at the scripting stuff myself .

If you do a good script for this why not share .

SarusX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2005
Location: Behind u- thats where a rangers gonna be
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 00:04
Okay, I'm a real noob to scripting. can anyone whose experienced in such things help me out? I want the total ambience to change to 250, green to 230, red to 10, and blue to 10. this will be activated when the player walks into a trigger, OR, if i could figure out how to do so, as a the scope on a rifle, making a semi-nightvision effect. raising the ambience high would actually help the player in darker areas, since most of the game's ambience is set to around 20. any ideas?

if not, thanks anyway. as always, i greatly appreciate your help.



Because no n00b is a good n00b.
brummel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 20:24 Edited at: 14th Feb 2006 20:59
This sets the ambience like you wanted when you step into a triggerzone and stays like that until you start a new game. I havent figured out how to reset the ambience when not in the zone.



Have fun!

EDIT:

This resets the ambience to the original.



Have fun! Again.

-Half Death- A game like Half Life 2 in progress...
Disturbing 13
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Apr 2005
Location: Murder Capital of the World
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 01:21
I knew it could be possible considering you can change the ambiance while testing. Cool deal Antimatter games !

JEEZ!You people just STFU! You waste more space complaining about people wasting space than the people your bashing! Man, I thought I had no life.
Lost Soul
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2006
Location: Trapped in DOS
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 14:23
when i used ambient light in a trigger zone,character entities loose their textures and appear all black.
brummel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 14:37 Edited at: 15th Feb 2006 17:47
No problem! Just call my name and Ill be there!

Well here it is updated:



Now you just create a triggerzone somewhere in the level and put this script in it. When youve done that youre able to have nightvision anywhere in the level when you push the USE button and to turn it of just push the USE button again. Remember you dont have to be in the zone.

Have fun!

-Half Death- A game like Half Life 2 in progress...
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 17:01 Edited at: 15th Feb 2006 17:04
ambience=250 ???

ambience=X has a maximum value of 100


While,

ambiencered=X
ambiencegreen=X
ambienceblue=X


have maximum values of 255.




Don't forget to visit http://www.conjured.us/

Support Your Local CE-FPSC Chapter
brummel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 17:18
But it works doesnt it? Well thanks for helping.

-Half Death- A game like Half Life 2 in progress...
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 17:38 Edited at: 15th Feb 2006 17:41
Yes it works, for now.

I was only trying to help everyone know that there is a difference in those max values.

Beginners should know the right ranges of value for those variables.
This version accepts a value that's out of range, but that doesn't mean future ones will.
Then you would have tons of scripts with bugs giving errors.

Merranvo explained the difference to me when I was a noob.
Only trying to help.

Don't forget to visit http://www.conjured.us/

Support Your Local CE-FPSC Chapter
brummel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 17:40 Edited at: 15th Feb 2006 21:09
Yes i know and i appreciate it. You dont have to get upset. I was only kidding. Are we cool Conjured?

-Half Death- A game like Half Life 2 in progress...
brummel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 17th Feb 2006 16:03 Edited at: 17th Feb 2006 16:06
As some of you probably know at this time the ambience doesnt work on dynamic entities...so its better if you make a green hud in photoshop and make it appear or buing conjureds entertainments FPSC addon.

-Half Death- A game like Half Life 2 in progress...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-04-08 15:03:58
Your offset time is: 2020-04-08 15:03:58