Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Work In Progress / New Segment Screenie

Author
Message
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 14:16
Tadaaaa

yeah...thats the ticket !

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 14:21
Segment Screenshot without Bumpmapping

( compare with the one with bumpmapping ! )

yeah...thats the ticket !

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 14:22
Segment Screenshot with Bumpmapping

Why does it look worse ?!?

Dont know, but some segment textures look better without shaders...confusing !

yeah...thats the ticket !

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Nigezu
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2005
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 15:37
Great segments!
Bumpmapped one looks better!

Intel Pentium 4 Processor 519 3.06 Ghz, 1536 MB DDR, Ati Radeon 9550 256MB
brummel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 17:45
But can you explain in details how you create bumpmaps? Like how the .fpe should look?

Sinistar
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 19:24 Edited at: 19th Apr 2006 19:25
Whenever I try to do bumpmaps on my segments they turn black. What up with that?

It looks worse because the normal map isn't right for the floor. At least thats what it seems like.
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 21:03
bumpmapped one looks better ??? in my opinion the floor texture of the non shaded segment looks better. more colours and more depth.

I dont know whats the problem with the normal map. have done it like many times before. the same procedure as with the walls. walls are no problem but floor isnt working right. looks like the standard diffuse map.

and when i try to add more layers ...maybe attach the floor as a ceiling, the texture on the under side of the floor ( which should then be the ceiling ) is cmpletely black.

Explain in details ? okay i`ll try
( i am using gimp for normalmaps. its freeware and you can download it everywhere in the net. just search on google )

i think you know how to handle the segment editor. if not, just watch the tutorials TGC made.

then, lets say you got a brick texture 512 X 512 in Tga format.

open it in gimp. then save it as ...lets say Bricks_D2.tga
the _D2 is very important. the names before dont matter...you could also name it somehow like... Myfirstwall_whatever_D2.tga
just dont forget the _D2 ending !

so, this is your texture map, which is applied automatically if you dont use shaders.
now you want to have a bumpmap texture. In gimp, right-click on the brick texture and choose Filters, Abbilden, Normalmap ( information : dont have the english gimp version. i got the german. you have to translate the word "abbilden" )
then a new window pops up and you see your wall in fancy pink colors.
just play around with the settings on the right to get the best result.
if youve done this, save this texture under the same name you saved the _D2 texture , except the _D2 example...your _D2 named texture
is called Bricks_D2.tga , now, you save this normal mapped texture under Bricks_N.tga. here , the _N defines the normalmap. The FPSC engine finds it and attaches it to the D2 Image.

Now the third step.
for now , you got :

Bricks_D2.tga
Bricks_N.tga

now you need a texture made out of the _D2 texture without shadows. or lets say...brighter wit less contrast then the _D2 image.
open you _D2 again and lower the contrast and add a little bit more brightness.
then you save this texture as the _D.tga texture. The diffuse map.
in our example :

Bricks_D.tga

now you got 3 textures. they all have to be in the same folder. then, if you apply the textures in segment editor and choose the bump.fx shader, this program automatically generates the fps entitiy files. but, for the last step , just watch the tutorial vid. its explained much better. i hope my english is not too bad i gave my best
hope it helps.

yeah...thats the ticket !
Rome Cadaver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2006
Location: Suomi/Finland
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 22:11
Mr Flowerkohl,your screenies look likes very nice!


The Best Finnish gamemaking team
Nigezu
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2005
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 23:08
More people from Finland!!!

Intel Pentium 4 Processor 519 3.06 Ghz, 1536 MB DDR, Ati Radeon 9550 256MB
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 16:34 Edited at: 20th Apr 2006 16:35
New screenie

yeah...thats the ticket !

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 16:37
PS: thanks rome cadaver ^^

yeah...thats the ticket !
Nigezu
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2005
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 22:53
That screenie doesn't work for me .

Intel Pentium 4 Processor 519 3.06 Ghz, 1536 MB DDR, Ati Radeon 9550 256MB
Opus Games
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 23:08 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2006 23:14
Quote: "That screenie doesn't work for me"


Try clicking Download followed by Open.

Clicking View probably isn't working because the image is labelled .JPG not .jpg

Cheers, Rich.

EDIT: The shots showing off the segments look good, and I agree the non-bumpmapped shot looks better, in fact they look like two different rooms such is the difference (especially the walls).
Nigezu
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2005
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 23:10
Thanks, Opus Games! Now it worked.

Screenie was damn nice!!!

Intel Pentium 4 Processor 519 3.06 Ghz, 1536 MB DDR, Ati Radeon 9550 256MB
Nigezu
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Nov 2005
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 18:12 Edited at: 28th Apr 2006 18:12
I'm trying to make my own normalmaps but when I open texture with gimp and select filters and then select map (it was abbilden in English) there is no option called normalmap, just bumpmap and some other options. Have I got older version than you, Mr. Flowerkohl? I have gimp version 2.2.

Intel Pentium 4 Processor 519 3.06 Ghz, 1536 MB DDR, Ati Radeon 9550 256MB
Bloodeath 6 6 6
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2005
Location: Sierra vista in indonesia
Posted: 29th Apr 2006 09:22
you didnt make the ground...because i found it off of the internet...so if your taking credit for the tiles your stealing someone elses work unless you own the site

and if you do...put my name on the homepage editing the html

http://ninjasoftforum.proboards107.com
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 29th Apr 2006 14:09
yeah i didnt make it. i made the segment and that texture is commercial free. so whats your problem ? why should i put your name on the homepage ? WHAT ?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

yeah...thats the ticket !
Bloodeath 6 6 6
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2005
Location: Sierra vista in indonesia
Posted: 29th Apr 2006 23:37
Okay i just saw the texture and the way you were making it seem was


"Yeah i made these textures I DID NOT get them off of a site, and if i did it was MY site..."


so what i ment was

if your taking credit for the ground texture then your lieing

unless you own the site
and if you own the site i said put my name on the homepage to show that you rightfully control the site

sorry for the jumping to conclusions ive just been seeing alot of plagurism lately

http://ninjasoftforum.proboards107.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-29 06:37:36
Your offset time is: 2020-09-29 06:37:36