Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / [STICKY] AGEIA PhysX Drivers

Author
Message
Mike Johnson
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 01:31 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2006 01:34
After installing Dark Physics it is necessary to install runtime drivers for the physics.

You can find a link to these drivers under Start Menu\The Game Creators\Expansion Packs\Dark Physics\Tools. Select the Runtime option and follow the instructions to install the new drivers.

These drivers will also soon be available for download at http://www.ageia.com
FINN MAN
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2004
Location:
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 05:01
Thanks it took me a while to figure it out that there was a runtime under tools, I was trying to install the one that was linked on the web site... was getting very frustrated. Got it now and wow Cant get enough.

Yoko
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 05:09
I think TGC can invoke the runtime installer whrn installing the DarkPhysics package, prompt users to install it.

That's easier to sort out.
imekon
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 11:20
If you run any demo without first installing the physics engine, it directs you to the website to download the drivers. I did download them but installed the ones supplied with DarkPhysics - is the one on the website too old? It seemed to be an older version.

Pete Goodwin
JerBil
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2004
Location: Somewhere along the Z axis...
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 18:41
My virus detect gives a spyware warning when running the drivers
tool for Adware.Maxfiles. Should I just ignore this? I'm thinking
it's something to do with the multiplayer option.

Here is a link for Adware.Maxfiles:

http://www.f-secure.com/sw-desc/maxifiles.shtml

Ad Astra Per Asper
Mike Johnson
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 20:18
imekon, the drivers on the AGEIA website are older so for now stick with the ones included in the installation with Dark Physics.

JerBil, it may be the virus software being over protective, it's probably nothing to be concerned with.
imekon
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Aug 2006 00:14
So... if I want to bundle up a Dark Basic Pro app with Dark Physics, what do I need? I note the demos come with an installer for the PhysX engine, shouldn't we have one for our apps?

Pete Goodwin
imekon
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Aug 2006 16:02 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2006 16:08
The drivers are available:

http://www.ageia.com/physx/drivers.html

So that answers my question!

(Edit: Just installed them and they work fine)

Pete Goodwin
VR2
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Mar 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 17:26
Quote: "So... if I want to bundle up a Dark Basic Pro app with Dark Physics, what do I need? I note the demos come with an installer for the PhysX engine, shouldn't we have one for our apps?"


If it helps, I just ran a DP app on my work machine and on first run got a messageBox come up saying "You need DirectX 9C December 2005 or later".

So I installed it.

I ran the program again and got the message "You need PhysX drivers" and immediately IE fired up and took me to the correct page on the ageia site, with a button at the top "Download for all...". So i clicked it and it came up with a standard installer.

After it installed I tried the program again and it ran fine, no problems at all. Well actually I lie - it was the wind demo from this forum and I got "Missing image at line..." problems so I then viewed the source code from the posting and figured out there were supposed to be 2 jpgs, which I created.

THEN it ran fine.

So, if its as easy as that - I wouldn't bother too much about bundling up PhysX drivers - if your users don't have them istalled they will be told AND directoed to the correct URL to download the latest drivers

Just a shame it doesn't do that for DirectX as well.
Diggsey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 3rd Sep 2006 23:03
Do you need winxp to run DP?

There are three types of people, those that can count and those that can't.
Richard Davey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 5th Sep 2006 21:15
Yes, the PhysX drivers are XP only (officially, Win2k unofficially)

"Bite my shiny metal ass" - Bender, Futurama
No pixels were harmed in the making of this post
"Don't ping my cheese with your bandwidth"
BatVink
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 12th Sep 2006 19:29
I have them running fine on Win 2K. I imagine they are tested and certified on XP, if it goes belly up on Win 2K you're on your own.



ZeroShade
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Sep 2006 18:34
I downloaded and installed the driver but it does nothing. It says something about a certain processor required. Is this true? Do I need to get a new processor to use dark physics... I just bought an alienware laptop, you would think that the processor would work?

Live And Let Learn
ESP
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2006
Location: London, England, U.K.
Posted: 29th Sep 2006 12:18 Edited at: 29th Sep 2006 12:19
Hi ZeroShade,

Without the Ageia chipset, you can only run in software mode, and loose fluids. But on a modern machine, Software Mode seems OK.

Robin

P.S. right-click the Ageia icon in the system tray and check-out the demo in there.
JerBil
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2004
Location: Somewhere along the Z axis...
Posted: 2nd Nov 2006 16:17
I see Ageia has new drivers. Should we be using them or wait for a DP update first?

Ad Astra Per Asper
Hoozer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bremerhaven (Germany)
Posted: 21st Dec 2006 23:23 Edited at: 21st Dec 2006 23:23
The latest "PhysX Drivers" from AGEIA are now "6.12.02" and they can be found at:
http://www.ageia.com/drivers/drivers.html

(They work fine for me with DP!)


Hoozer

AMD 64X2 4800+ (939); 2GB; GF 6800LE (@12PS, 6VS; 380 MHz, RAM: 434 MHz)
DP-Sw-Mode-Comp-Entry (updated to V. 1.2):
http://rapidshare.com/files/3326313/PhysiX-Brick-Breakout---V--1-2.zip
Airslide
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 22nd Dec 2006 01:05
When I checked the Ageina Physics directory, it seems to have DLLs from every version. Presumably DarkPhysics is still using an older version, so new versions won't have combatibilty conflicts.

Hoozer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bremerhaven (Germany)
Posted: 22nd Dec 2006 14:57
@ Airslide:

You might be right! BUT I tried the unofficial driver (6.11.10 or so from the AGEIA-Forum) and I couldn't use my DP-Programms anymore, because they caused errors with that driver! (So not every driver works fine!)


Hoozer

AMD 64X2 4800+ (939); 2GB; GF 6800LE (@12PS, 6VS; 380 MHz, RAM: 434 MHz)
DP-Sw-Mode-Comp-Entry (updated to V. 1.2):
http://rapidshare.com/files/3326313/PhysiX-Brick-Breakout---V--1-2.zip
Airslide
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 22nd Dec 2006 19:06
Well, an 'unofficial' driver probally won't work because it doesn't keep the older ones intact.

White knight
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Feb 2007 08:55
it is slower in vista than in xp insoftware mode it flies in software mode in xp but in vista it slows down a lot.

new learning center comming soon http://911.bounceme.net/
Hoozer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bremerhaven (Germany)
Posted: 9th May 2007 16:31 Edited at: 9th May 2007 16:32
The latest "PhysX Drivers" from AGEIA are now "7.05.05" and they can be found at:
http://www.ageia.com/drivers/drivers.html

(They work fine for me with DP!)


Hoozer

AMD 64X2 4800+ (939); 2GB; GF 6800LE (@12PS, 6VS; 380 MHz, RAM: 434 MHz)
DP-Sw-Mode-Comp-Entry (updated to V. 1.3):
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=93582&b=5
MikeB
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Location: My Computer, Shropshire, England
Posted: 22nd May 2007 20:15
So.... I don't quite get this ...... do I need a PhysX CARD to run DarkPhysics, or just a PhysX driver?? And will the drivers work on an integrated intel laptop graphics card??

Thanks,

E.D.

Agent Dink
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 22nd May 2007 20:45
The only thing you need the physics card for currently is fluids. Otherwise, all you need are the drivers and everything should work just fine regardless of your graphics card.

I have no signature...
z_man
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Jun 2007 02:35
Is there possibly any way that the end-user does not have to install drivers? Some people don't have admin powers to install drivers and some people are weary of installing new drivers.

I just need to know this before buying DPhys.

Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 2GB DDR2 RAM Radeon X1600 Series Realtek Sound System

Persist and you will succeed.
Xarshi
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 10:44
No,you need the drivers.

Hello

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-07-22 06:02:55
Your offset time is: 2018-07-22 06:02:55