Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / Purchasing PPU in the UK

Author
Message
ESP
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2006
Location: London, England, U.K.
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 16:08
Hi All,

Has anyone in the UK purchased a PPU card? If so from where and for how much?

Robin
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 16:20
OSX Using Happy Dude
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 16:21 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2006 16:22
Play.Com apparently do it too.

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Supplying "NO" since 1974...
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 16:21
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 16:32
Have you seen those figures!

Quote: "- Peak Instruction Bandwidth: 20 Billion/sec
- Sphere-Sphere Collisions: 530 Million/sec max
- Convex-Convex (Complex Collisions): 533,000/sec max"




ESP
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2006
Location: London, England, U.K.
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 16:49
Hi All,

OUCH!! I think I will have to cope with the software only version for a few months.

Robin
Syncaidius
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 21:15 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2006 21:19
Quote: "Overclockers might be a good place - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/PhysX_Accelerators.html "


I'd also recommend ordering a PPU from Overclockers Site. They have the best prices and you are garenteed to get your PPU the next day.

I got my PPU from here and hell, it was worth the money too!

Heres the URL again, just for the record:
[href]http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/PhysX_Accelerators.html [/href].

EDIT: A PPU requires a supplimental power supply so be sure to have a power supply with a desent wattage.

Working on several projects:
- World - A free level editor for DarkBASIC Professional
- Galactic Conquest - a sci-fi RTS game
OSX Using Happy Dude
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 2nd Aug 2006 21:17 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2006 21:19
Unfortunately there are no PCMCIA expansion card versions for laptop users.
Good news though, a 64-bit driver will be availiable from sometime after September...

Come to the last Unofficial DBPro Convention (http://convention.logicstudios.net/)
Supplying "NO" since 1974...
HowDo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Aug 2006 07:19
cheaper if on a mother board.

I'm not getting you down am I, Ho Look! another fancy Door?
Syncaidius
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Aug 2006 23:02
@Mike: where did you buy your PPU from? Overclockers?

Working on several projects:
- World - A free level editor for DarkBASIC Professional
- Galactic Conquest - a sci-fi RTS game
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Aug 2006 23:06
We got a few direct from Ageia.
Syncaidius
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Aug 2006 23:13 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2006 23:17
Well I bought dug into my pockets and bought a ASUS PhysiX PPU (with Ghost Recon: AW included), a Sapphire Radeon X1600 256MB GDDR3 Graphics card and a 19" OcUK LCD Flat-screen monitor from Overclockers UK for around £380.

I think thats more than enough for that kind of money, especially when it gets delivered the next day, same of Dark Physics release.

Must say though, DP is the best plugin TGC have created so far. It rocks even more with a PPU, especially the fluid demos.

Great Work TGC!

Im going to start making a Fluid demo for people to play around with (and a video for those who cant). Maybe a few barrels full of liquids which the player can shoot, should be intresting...

WORLD - A free World editor, capable of creating the most complex of worlds (including physics, skies, water, shaders, terrain editing and more). Best of all, it's FREE!
Fallout
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location: Basingstoke, England
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 00:35 Edited at: 4th Aug 2006 00:35
Arrghh. I've lost the link now, but apparently the ASUS PPU is twice the memory of the other one available (not sure what the other make is). I read somewhere that the ASUS PPU has 256MB but has been advertised as having 128MB because the other company complained to Ageia that this would kill off their share of the market (not good for Ageia at this time!). I really don't know if this is fact or not, but I would recommend choosing the ASUS one just in case.

Edit: Actually, it's right there on Mike's link.
http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17582150

Gen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2004
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 06:49
Quote: "because the other company complained to Ageia that this would kill off their share of the market"


Then maybe they should make theirs with 256MB...

Well, now I know which one of the two I'll getting, as soon as I get some $$. Why does good things always have to come when I'm broke?

Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2, Pentium 4 3.0 GHz, 2048 MB Daul Channeled PC3200 Ram, ATI Radeon X700 Pro 256 MB
BillR
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Aug 2006 12:45
If I remember right, the Ageia Physx hardware spec is set up to use 128MD RAM, so either card will have the max memory used by the PPU chip.

Sounds like ASUS was just trying to market theirs to look better, even if only 128MB of the RAM was actually used.

That said, they do include Ghost Recon: AW, so that sweetens the deal if you wanted a copy of Ghost Recon anyway.
ESP
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2006
Location: London, England, U.K.
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 12:50
Hi Guys,

Just ordered mine from Overclockers. Should be here Friday

Robin

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-20 00:33:08
Your offset time is: 2019-06-20 00:33:08