Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / Breaking joints manually ?

Author
Message
UDun
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: France
Posted: 9th Nov 2006 20:37 Edited at: 9th Nov 2006 20:37
If we create a joint with a break limit (phy set joints break limits), is it possible to break the joint manually ? I mean can we apply a force (phy add rigid body force, set linear velocity...) to destroy the joint instead of using another object ?

In fact, I want to break a joint to destroy a structure but I don't need any object to collide with this structure? Is it possible ?

Thanks

Coding is dangerous for health ...
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 9th Nov 2006 21:24
how about PHY DELETE JOINT? That will allow the rigid bodies to break away.



bosskeith
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Nov 2006 21:54
...and if the bodies are stacked in a way where even with the joint still absent it remains standing yes you can add a force to it to make it crumble.

UDun
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: France
Posted: 9th Nov 2006 22:50
Thanks.

Yes, of course we can delete the joint but in this case, setting a break limit is useless. I want to use a force which, according to its strength, will break or not the joint

Coding is dangerous for health ...
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 9th Nov 2006 23:28
You can still set a break limit for circumstances when it gets hit/sheared/pulled, and still delete it manually in other scenarios.



Alfred
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2006
Location: Jalisco, Mexico
Posted: 9th Nov 2006 23:51 Edited at: 10th Nov 2006 00:25
I would like to point to the fact that sometimes you need to make something else happen when a joint is broken. (Like if you break a lamp burn the light bulb and emit sparks). For this I would use the 'phy get joint broken ' command, but apparently this command doesn´t exist and I am forced to work around...

Hallowed are the ori.
UDun
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: France
Posted: 10th Nov 2006 11:54
But do you know a command which will simulate the force applied by an object hitting the joint (velocity, force, torque..) in order to break or no it according to its limit ? It's what I really try to find : breaking a joint manually without any objects.

@Alfred, when the joint is broken, it's like if the joint is deleted, isnt'it ? I'm not really sure...

Coding is dangerous for health ...
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 10th Nov 2006 12:21
I think people are confusing PhysX joints with real-world, Physical joints.

If you want to simulate a real-world joint, then you need an additional object to represent it. This in turn will be connected to the rigid bodies by PhysX joints. Now, you can apply a force to the additional object, and it's PhysX joints will be affected.

In real life, you don't attach a door to the door frame and expect it to swing. You attach the door to a hinge, and the hinge to the doorframe. You have 3 objects, not 2. Now, you can hit the hinge with a hammer and this can be emulated in the same way.



UDun
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: France
Posted: 10th Nov 2006 21:41
Yes, I totally agree with you. In fact, I didn't explain my question correctly. I don't really want to know how to break the joint directly, it's not real as you say.

Your example with the door-hinge-doorframe is what I want. But instead of using a hammer (=another rigid body), I want to use a command (add force, set velocity...?) to simulate it. The hammer will produce a force and the joint will be broken... so what is this force applied by the engine to destroy the joint ?

For example, connect two rigid bodies with a fixed joint which has a break limit... then try to add a force or to move a box (with commands) to force the joint to be broken... My question is here : the PhyX joint is not affected

Coding is dangerous for health ...
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 10th Nov 2006 23:52
If you have the following setup:

Door Frame -> Hinge -> Door

Then in DP you would have

Door Frame (Static) <-> Physx fixed Joint <-> Hinge part 1 <-> Physx Revolute Joint <-> Hinge Part 2 <-> Physx Fixed Joint <-> Door

The 2 fixed joints, or the revolute joint, or all 3 will have a break limit. Now you can, for example, phy set rigid body linear momentum on one part of the hinge to shear it.



dark coder
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 11th Nov 2006 05:33
The easiest method is to just set the joint break limits to 0,0 for both linear and angular, then they will instantly break. I do this in my project, shame you cannot see if a joint has been broken...

Hallowed are the ori.
Alfred
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2006
Location: Jalisco, Mexico
Posted: 15th Nov 2006 00:21
Quote: "Alfred, when the joint is broken, it's like if the joint is deleted, isnt'it ? I'm not really sure..."


According to my tests: no, it´s just broken. However, it still exists, but if you try to modify any parameters the program aborts saying that you can´t modify broken joints. I put here a request for the 'phy get joint broken ' command.

Hallowed are the ori.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-19 10:50:42
Your offset time is: 2019-10-19 10:50:42