Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / IDE Release 1.0.8 Available

Author
Message
GuySavoie
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 16th Oct 2002 01:17
IDE Release 1.0.8 is available for download:

http://www.realgametools.net/dbpro/downloads/dbpro_ide_108.exe

It is an installer package,btw. Revision list:

Revision History for the DarkBASIC Professional IDE

Version 1.0.8
Release Date: October 15, 2002

Bug Fixes

· Fixed bug where you could lose the splitter bar and/or the source code status bar (slight visual difference on splitter bar, also.)

· Fixed a bug where commands did not highlight when the next character was a ")" closing a parameter list.

· You can no longer overwrite a read-only source file (oops!)

· Beefed up variable list building algorithm so extra spaces in declarations don't mess up the lists.

· Fixed a bug where re-opening a project did not update the function, label, and variables lists.

Revisions

· The IDE can now recognize command line long and DOS names, improperly delimited, etc. This should clear up the communication issues with launch.exe. (Symptoms were: double clicking on .DBPro files and DOS filename appears in the title bar., also it would prevent relative filenames for included media, etc.)

· The automatic pop up parameter lists were too invasive; Parameter lists now appear in the status bar. (If the parameter list is too long, hover the mouse over it, and the mouse hint will show the full parameter list.

· Changed Project Manager Button colors - default "off" colors are now darker, giving greater visual contrast for green and blue button groups.

Issues Still to be Resolved

· Mouse wheel does not work in Help Window

· Sporadic Crashes in Assistant Mode Window and Help Window (HTML window issues)

· Media Browser needs to be revised (some crashing, slow performance, etc.)

· Improve list building for functions, labels, variables. (When commented out, etc.)
rapscaLLion
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 16th Oct 2002 01:49
Yay! Thanks!
(Dloading now)

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Get the DB Weekly Newsletter at www.dbwn.cjb.net
Ratty Rat
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 16th Oct 2002 21:47
WooHoo! All updates gratefully received.
Khumba
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Oct 2002 07:40
Yay, thx! Stupid 56k modem, dl FASTER!!! Lol
The One Ring
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 17th Oct 2002 07:59
Installed it. I didn't notice too much in the way of changes.

Guy says: The automatic pop up parameter lists were too invasive; Parameter lists now appear in the status bar. (If the parameter list is too long, hover the mouse over it, and the mouse hint will show the full parameter list.

I liked the automatic pop up parameter list!

AMD Athlon 900 768MB DDR
ATI Radeon 64MB DDR All-In-Wonder 7500, ATI XPert 128 16MB
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer w/FireWire Support
Ratty Rat
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Oct 2002 12:41
They did occasionally get in the way, particularly when reviewing code. Personal preference thing by the sounds of it, perhaps an option in the settings would be good?
exLRT
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posted: 17th Oct 2002 17:35
Guy,

Are you sure you packaged the correct version? DBPROVersionScan returns 1.0.7.1 for editor.exe...is it normal ?

Ulric
ASUS A7M266 - AMD Athlon 1.4GHz - 512MB DDR266 - CreativeLabs GeForce4 Ti4600 - Windows XP Pro SP1
rapscaLLion
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 18th Oct 2002 02:55
Ya, can you set Popups to be optional?

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Get the DB Weekly Newsletter at www.dbwn.cjb.net
The Communist
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 21st Oct 2002 23:13
Uhm, can't download...
GuySavoie
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 22nd Oct 2002 06:30
Sorry guys, I goofed up.

An older version of the editor was grabbed by the installer program. To download the correct 1.0.8, which now includes the keywords.ini file update, please go to:

http://www.realgametools.com/downloads.html

Sorry for the mixup.

--- Guy

Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 25th Oct 2002 01:38
Hey perhaps you can tell me
what variables need to be used for the IDE to compile using DBpro's compiler?
do i have to add in DLL access or something, because in the old style it just says ".dba not recognised" or something like that.

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Matto
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2002 15:08
Is this new IDE release included in the new patch(2) or should it be downloaded and run seperatly?

Thanks in advance.

1ghz Cel,512 sdram 133,Gf2 MX 400 64,SBL 5.1,Win98
Best Upcoming MMOG - http://WWW.Atriarch.com
Project: Card Game with No Name
exLRT
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posted: 25th Oct 2002 15:10
As far as I know, you have to download it separately.

Ulric
ASUS A7M266 - AMD Athlon 1.4GHz - 512MB DDR266 - CreativeLabs GeForce4 Ti4600 - Windows XP Pro SP1
spooky
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Oct 2002 19:22
Sorry to be a thicko but what relationship is this so called 'IDE' with dbpro and the various patches?

1. Is it an 'official' update to the editor or a third party fix?

2. If it is a third party fix, won't it conflict with the patches?
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 25th Oct 2002 20:03
DBpro Compiler + DLLs -> DarkBasic Software Ltd
DBpro Editor -> Real Game Tools Software

they hired GuyS after they nabbed DarkEdit if i remember, because DE came out as a licence then DBS got the rights or something and it became free
the DBpro editor is effectively DarkEdit 2.0 (well 2.0.8)

Technically third party but also technically official ... if that makes any sence
It's like Microsoft having Bungie develop Halo2,
technically Halo2 is Microsofts ... but its is actually Bungies due to they developed it

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 27th Oct 2002 16:54
To answer your question a little more directly Sonic - the IDE talked about here is the DBPro editor and you should download the update for it. It is not included in Patch 2.

Cheers,

Rich

"Gentlemen, we are about to short-circuit the Universe!"
DB Team / Atari ST / DarkForge / Retro Gaming
spooky
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Oct 2002 12:30
Thank you for the info, rich. I am downloading new version 1.0.9 right now.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-07-14 20:50:45
Your offset time is: 2020-07-14 20:50:45