Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / Dark AI - Patrol Issues

Author
Message
Uncle Sam
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 1st Jan 2007 23:03 Edited at: 2nd Jan 2007 20:54
I basically took the code from patrol demo and applied it to my game. When I set to points on a patrol path, the AI bot just strafes sideways into a wall and dissapears off the map. When I turned off obstacles, it worked just fine.

The obstacle I have is a complex level object (see pic).

I have DBP version 6.3

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7950GT 512MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 1GB RAM
Need particles? Click here!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Uncle Sam
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 2nd Jan 2007 20:56
Any help with this please?

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7950GT 512MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 1GB RAM
Need particles? Click here!
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Jan 2007 21:58
Check the radius is not set too high by showing the obstacle debug info.
Uncle Sam
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 2nd Jan 2007 22:40 Edited at: 2nd Jan 2007 22:46
Hmm, I already tried that, but it shows nothing. :S

EDIT: ah, I figured out how to make it appear. All I see is bounds around the outside of the outerwall of the level, but none on the inside.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7950GT 512MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 1GB RAM
Need particles? Click here!
Uncle Sam
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 2nd Jan 2007 22:51
I made it show the paths, and it shows lines leading to the outer wall. Once the cone reaches the wall the path changes to a line following the outer side of the wall.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7950GT 512MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 1GB RAM
Need particles? Click here!
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Jan 2007 23:13 Edited at: 2nd Jan 2007 23:14
Post or email me the level with some example code and I'll take a look at it.
Uncle Sam
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 2nd Jan 2007 23:23 Edited at: 2nd Jan 2007 23:25
Ok, here is the relevant code (a little messy):



And the level object and textures are attatched.

Thanks a million.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7950GT 512MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 1GB RAM
Need particles? Click here!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jan 2007 00:28
I see, for complex objects like that you'll want to use the AI ADD OBSTACLE FROM LEVEL command instead of AI ADD STATIC OBSTACLE, for example this works well for your level:

AI Add Obstacle From Level 9999,0,1,17,2,2

You'll also want to increase the AI radius to about 2.5 to make sure entities stay away from the walls.
Uncle Sam
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 3rd Jan 2007 02:19
THANK YOU!....sorry for shouting, but I mean it!

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7950GT 512MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 1GB RAM
Need particles? Click here!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-16 10:35:10
Your offset time is: 2019-10-16 10:35:10