Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / How to delete particles?

Author
Message
Medieval Coder
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2007 22:09
How do I delete particles? Deleting the object doesent seem to work...


^ Paintball Rocks ^
Cash Curtis II
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 15th Jan 2007 23:03
As far as I could tell, and keep saying, DP particles are busted. As a consequence, they aren't useful for anything except a static emitter that you never need to hide, delete, or anything fancy except for moving.


Come see the WIP!
Medieval Coder
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Jan 2007 00:58 Edited at: 16th Jan 2007 00:59
So, there is no way to delete a DP particle?

Anyone find a way?


^ Paintball Rocks ^
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 16th Jan 2007 15:28
No, particles cannot be deleted. The best you can do is reduce the emission to 0.



Medieval Coder
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Jan 2007 17:56 Edited at: 16th Jan 2007 18:06
So what is wrong with phy delete emitter ID?

edit: It seems that phy delete emitter seems to work really well!
edit2: sorry about that i meant particle emitter and you thought that I was talking about the particles themselves.


^ Paintball Rocks ^
Hoozer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bremerhaven (Germany)
Posted: 17th Jan 2007 11:46
I also tried around with the particles, but "phy delete emitter"-command looks not very nice, cause it deletes all particles immediately, no matter if they are still alive or not! That looks realy bad, for example when the whole smoke is gone from one sec. to the next! (Maybe I did something wrong, but I'm really sure everthing I did was correct!)

Hoozer

AMD 64X2 4800+ (939); 2GB; GF 6800LE (@12PS, 6VS; 380 MHz, RAM: 434 MHz)
DP-Sw-Mode-Comp-Entry (updated to V. 1.2):
http://rapidshare.com/files/3326313/PhysiX-Brick-Breakout---V--1-2.zip
Medieval Coder
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Jan 2007 01:01
Ahh, but it doesnt matter for me. In my game there is a very thick fog so the range of view is very small. So, no worries there. Just have to be a little clever.


^ Paintball Rocks ^
Cash Curtis II
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 20th Jan 2007 11:00
It's even worse than that Hoozer. When you recreate the emitter, all of the old particles that vanished instantly reappear, just long enough to look like crap.

That's why I can't use DP particles. TGC got it right with the original particles pack, I hope that they modify DP particles to match.


Come see the WIP!
Hoozer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bremerhaven (Germany)
Posted: 20th Jan 2007 12:19
@ Cash: I know, I just forgot to mention it! (In my "PhysiX-Brick-Breakout"-Game I tried many options and things in the hope to use them a bit more "usefull" / effectively, but this things make them only good for static things that never need a change!) I still have the hope of an Update soon!

AMD 64X2 4800+ (939); 2GB; GF 6800LE (@12PS, 6VS; 380 MHz, RAM: 434 MHz)
DP-Sw-Mode-Comp-Entry (updated to V. 1.2):
http://rapidshare.com/files/3326313/PhysiX-Brick-Breakout---V--1-2.zip

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-20 03:45:39
Your offset time is: 2019-08-20 03:45:39