Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Undocummented commands in DBP ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Feb 2007 21:45
I am new to Game programming and Dark Basic Pro but come from a programming background. I liked the look of DBP and bought a copy and patched it to 6.4

I have been going through code examples from the site and the forums and have started to notice commands appearing in people's code which appear to be undocumented but DBP is quite happy to execute. Sparky's Sliding Collision example for instance references lots of terrain based commands for which I can find no documentation: 'update terrain' and 'get terrain ground height' to mention just a few.

Am I missing something here? Can anyone tell me where the documentation for these and other seemingly undocumented commands are? It's not so much that I can't work out what they are doing within the context of the surrounding code as much as the feeling that I may be missing out on a wealth of other commands that I could be utilising.

No matter how good your code is, someone will improve on it
Dracula
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Feb 2007 23:28