Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Can declare file scope variables anywhere?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,
I'm new to DarkBasic but an experienced C programmer.

I have organized my project into "modules" where each module is a different dba source file. At the top of each file, I declare my module variables (equivalent to file scope variables in C). Here's the problem:

If I declare an empty array (e.g. dim myArray() as MY_UDT), when I try to use it at runtime I get an array out of bounds message after I insert and element and then try to access it. But if I simply cut the code and paste it into the main.dba source so that the declaration is at the very top of the entire source dump, it works fine.

Is it not allowed to declare variables in this manner? Or is this a bug?

Thanks,
mr.b
Aaron Miller
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: osu!
Posted: 22nd Feb 2007 03:42 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2007 03:42
I believe files in DBP are appended to the end of the main source file. (Probably because functions usually go at the end of the file, so that the main loop is easier to access)

On the off topic, I know C++, and DBP, and I dont think DBP is very suitable for data handling, no matter how much it looks like it is, I much more prefer using C++ for that. (No offense to Lee Bamber, or DarkBASIC Professional)

Cheers,

-db

Enter my forums here.
mr b
Years of Service
User Offline
Yes, the source files are appended to each other to make a big source file before compiling. But I though that variable declarations could go anywhere.

So in my case, I would have:

variables
functions
variables
functions
etc...