Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / water effects

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
ive created an island in magicworld and loaded it , ive wanted to create water but i dont know how ? , i know the i need to use the command make matrix and texture it but i cant get the right size ,
and i cant position it ,,.. and the other thing is , after i make the water is there a way to make some kind of effect that its gonna seen like they moving ??
sicjoshsic
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2003 20:52
the way i do it (and im a newbie so there is probably a much better way) is to make a matrix the same size as the first matrix, the SET MATRIX GHOST ON (water matrix number) (i think that that's the command) and in the main loop of your program put RANDOMIZE MATRIX (water matrix number),1 : UPDATE MATRIX (water matrix number)

Sephnroth
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2003 21:26
Sorry.. I reallly hunted hard for a code snippit i remember trying in the code snippits forum.. maybe you can find it, i couldnt :/ (we need a board search button!)

Basically, randomize matrix / update matrix is NOT the way to go. I was experimenting with water not to long ago, this makes for very jerky and rather horriable looking movement. You need much smaller variation in the matrix points for a nice smooth water.. like I said, there is a snipit demonstrating it perfectly on these boards somewhere, i just cant find it :/