Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Menu During Play

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2007 02:13
I'm still new to this WHOLE THING

ok, here's my thing, i've looked a little for anything that could help with making a menu during game play, and found some helpful stuff. Anyways, what i'm trying to accomplish is that during game play pressing the shift key will make a menu appear much as in the begining of my game, and pause the game, allowing you to resume on the shift key again.

I have used functions a bit, and use it for this, and plan to use the button function in it as well. Another problem is that the $ and # do not appear, but just show 0.

heres a small portion of the code.

If anyone can help with that, or my other post on .x polygon collisions PLEASE help... thanx

www.soundclick.com/octoberscry ---> My Doom Metal Band
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2007 12:27
Quote: "Another problem is that the $ and # do not appear, but just show 0."

You've just discovered the 'downside' of functions - variables in a function are local. Admittedly, in some situations this can be an advantage.

Had you created a procedure and used Gosub, you wouldn't have had the problem.

As for your main problem with the menu, if you've structured your program correctly it should be a simple case of creating a menu procedure which contains a main loop which traps the program until you select continue - at which point it exits the proc and drops back to the main game loop.