Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I'm a Novice that wants to create a drive around cityscape

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello all,

I want to create a cityscape that i can drive around. It's not a game as such, more just a way to drive from one waypoint to another. something simple with just roads and exterior buildings, with the ability to detect when a user has reached a waypoint.
Ideally, I would like to be able to submit a basic outline bitmap of a street map which the software can 'trace' the outlines and create roads and sidestreets from. I realise this is probably asking for too much, but it would be a great way for novices like me to get started.

Ubtil then though, can you people recomend the best software to use for just building a basic street level cityscape that can be drveable?
Sonic 91 Software
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Mar 2007 11:47 Edited at: 14th Mar 2007 11:48
there are a lot of modelling programs you can use, some of which are free. personally, i use:

deled lite
anim8or
caligari truespace 3.2

all of the above are free. for building a city, i would recommend deled lite. it is easy to use. which programming language are you using?

"Fight the good fight of faith,
Lay hold on eternal life"
-1 Timothy 6:12
efandango
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks for the feedback. Is the learing curve steep on those.
regards a programming language; i was hoping that i could find something that did not require much (if any) programming, is this possible. I would like to empathise that I am not looking for state-of-the-art lightshading, etc. Just somehting that will allow me to 'paint' navigable roads and put place facades of buildings on the streets.