Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 2D Arcade Game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Can someone help me? I need a coach. I have little programming knowledge. I need to create a 2D arcade game for school, and the project is due in a week on March 23 2007. Can someone please coach me through this, or can you give me a project to use until I learn more? I know how to create a screen, and load objects but that is about it.
Quisco DaLuse
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Mar 2007 04:05
Little programming knowledge and 8 days to write a 2D arcade game? Pretty aggressive goal you have there, but you can do it if you set your mind to it (and don't mind putting the effort and time into it). Normally the best way to learn is to go through the many available tutorials offered by TGC. Because of the time constraints that you are under, you might be able to load some 2D games from the codebase and run them to see how the author programmed them. What type of arcade game are you thinking of doing?

You idiots! You've captured their stunt doubles!
Dreamslayer X
Years of Service
User Offline
Just a simple space ship shooter. Something very simple. About the time tell my teacher about it. I am taking Game Design, but we are learning how to design the stuff on our own. Do you know any links?
Dreamslayer X
Years of Service
User Offline
Sorry about double posting, but where is code base located?
Quisco DaLuse
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Mar 2007 05:10