Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / question on modeling

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
ok, i am very new to this stuff, in fact, i havent even began to create a game in the first place, so, her is my question:

with programs like 3D modeling programs and things like that, can i make new models for my new game or is it only the models that are available with the model packs and the ones built in the FPSC program?

because i would love to begin making new models for people. that would be sick.

I make things go boom.
butyouman
Years of Service
User Offline
You can make models your self and put them into fpsc.
1st you need a model creating software
2nd you need an x converter and u need the fpsc entity maker

Slipknot Rules
puppet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Apr 2007 02:40
there are ready made files out there that coincide with 3dmax for modeling. A .fig file to get the skeliton the game uses and another file that has the animation on it. Tis leaves only modeling a character if you don't mind using the same animation. This way your new character can use the current "people" scripts and work in game as is. Making characters with a diffrent skeliton would require different animations and .fPI and .FPE scripts. I can't figure out Milkshape so I use Max. I hate it but I have little choice in the matter. I model and texture in Maya because its 200 million times less crap than Max but , unfortunately, Maya can't export in DirectX. SO I export as OBJ and import into Max where I bone, skin and animate then use the Panda exporter to make an .X file. The exporter is brilliant!!!!
Saint Areon
Years of Service
User Offline
@Maddog